The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
And if I don't want to?

I answered your first question already, Nevada. You can rescind the technical foul charged to the head coach, as per R2-11-11. You can also at the same time rescind the 2 FT's for the "T" if you catch that error before the first dead ball ended after the clock started following the second FT for the "T", as per R2-10-2 and 2-10-1(b).

The team will have 1 TO left after the bookkeeping correction.
Interesting...
I'm really not trying to be a wiseguy here, I asked for your opinion because I respect your expertise and you provided it. However, I'm still have a couple of sticking points. I would like your help in working through them.

1. While I agree that if the book was in error about the number of time-outs that the technical foul SHOULD be rescinded, I'm not convinced that 2-11-11 is the proper rules citation to allow that. The situation posed in this thread challenges my thinking about booking keeping as I have always considered that to be a record of the game. It records the score, the fouls that are charged, the time-outs, and in some cases the substitutions. So correcting a mistake in the book is simply about erasing a mark or number and/or putting one in another place. Fouls can clearly be changed from one player to another or moved from one team to the other or even erased entirely if they never took place, but can a technical foul which was called, reported, and the penalty assessed be wiped away as if it never happened solely on the basis of 2-11-11? I think that something stronger is needed to back that. Maybe even 2-3. Although, I hate to go there.

2. If you do make the T disappear, why would the team still have one time-out left? Wouldn't they be at zero now, since they got their five time-outs and didn't suffer a technical foul?

3. If it is too late to correct the awarding of the FTs and they must stand, do you give the team one time-out according to Dan's rationale that they are entitled to five which aren't penalized? They have already paid for a sixth with a T, so they still have one unpenalized time-out remaining. Is that what you would do?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
correctable error CLAY Basketball 16 Thu Dec 08, 2005 09:15am
Correctable Error hbioteach Basketball 2 Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:03am
Correctable error som44 Basketball 9 Mon Jan 26, 2004 02:51pm
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
Correctable error... w_sohl Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2003 04:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1