The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This case play only applies when someone on the team actually requested the time-out.
5.8.3 SITUATION E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? RULING: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.

Since the official in the situation you described did not heed the following advice,
2004-05 POINTS OF EMPHASIS
2. Time-out administration.
A. Coaches calling. Coaches must understand that just because they've requested a timeout doesn't guarantee it will be granted. Remember, only the head coach may legally request a timeout from the bench. Officials must be sure that the head coach is making the request. That is best done by hearing the coach, then visually confirming the request by seeing the coach request the timeout. Too often officials use sound only, later to discover the time out request was from someone other than the head coach.

he must now turn to this:
ACCIDENTAL WHISTLE
7.5.4 SITUATION: An official sounds his/her whistle accidentally: (a) while A1 is dribbling and in player control; (b) while Team A is in control and passing among teammates; (c) while A1's unsuccessful try attempt is in flight; or (d) while A's successful try attempt is in flight. RULING: The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. In (a) and (b), Team A is awarded a throw-in at the nearest out-of-bounds spot to where the ball was when the whistle was accidentally sounded. In (c), the ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-possession procedure. In (d), even though, by rule, there is no team control during this dead-ball period, the ball would be given to Team B for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. Team B would have clearly received the ball had the official not accidentally sounded his/her whistle. (7-4-4; 4-12-3,6; 4-36)
So, Nevada, did you just discover the icon for colored text this last week? (To a 5 year old who just got a hammer for his birthday, everything looks like a nail!)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
You stay away from my crayons.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You stay away from my crayons.
Don't worry. We don't use the BIG crayons.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical foul during time-out zebraman Basketball 12 Wed Dec 08, 2004 07:29am
Half time Technical footlocker Basketball 6 Wed Mar 24, 2004 02:13am
Technical Time Out fletch_irwin_m Basketball 5 Tue Dec 24, 2002 01:56am
Extra Period or Not?? tschriver Basketball 17 Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:39am
Extra Down parepat Football 9 Wed Nov 14, 2001 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1