The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Rick beat me to it, but doesn't the ball become dead when it is to be followed by another FT? That's what the situation was here, right? 2 shot foul, except that the ref said the wrong thing. Ball becomes dead after the first FT. Luke's whistle just reminded everybody that the ball was already dead. No?
I would think since my partner said 1 and 1, the ball wouldn't be dead after the first miss, therefor I should have administered the second free throw with the lane cleared.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 11:42am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukealex
I would think since my partner said 1 and 1, the ball wouldn't be dead after the first miss, therefor I should have administered the second free throw with the lane cleared.
1) What was the problem with this play?
ANSWER: There was a failure to award a merited free throw. Rule 2-10-1.

2) Can the failure to award the merited free throw be corrected.
ANSWER: Yes, if the error is caught no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has started. Rule 2-10-2.

3) Was the error caught in time to be correctable?
ANSWER:Yes.

4) How do you correct the error?
ANSWER: By using rule 2-10-6. You shoot the merited FT and then go to the POI to rectify the error.

5) What was the POI when the error was caught?
ANSWER: The POI was after B1 caught the missed first FT.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) What was the problem with this play?
ANSWER: There was a failure to award a merited free throw. Rule 2-10-1.

2) Can the failure to award the merited free throw be corrected.
ANSWER: Yes, if the error is caught no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has started. Rule 2-10-2.

3) Was the error caught in time to be correctable?
ANSWER:Yes.

4) How do you correct the error?
ANSWER: By using rule 2-10-6. You shoot the merited FT and then go to the POI to rectify the error.

5) What was the POI when the error was caught?
ANSWER: The POI was after B1 caught the missed first FT.
Exactly what I would have done if I had done it correctly
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
I agree with Jurassic. Especially since the administering ref announced 1-and-1. I think it has to be called a correctable error. and the ball gets put back into play at the POI.

Now.

What if T realizes as the shot goes up that L announced incorrectly? Blows whistle before the ball shanks off the rim? NOW it's still early enough that the correctable error rule doesn't apply, I think.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I agree with Jurassic. Especially since the administering ref announced 1-and-1. I think it has to be called a correctable error. and the ball gets put back into play at the POI.

Now.

What if T realizes as the shot goes up that L announced incorrectly? Blows whistle before the ball shanks off the rim? NOW it's still early enough that the correctable error rule doesn't apply, I think.
Good thread, I agree with Rainmaker, who agrees with Jurassic, therefore I agree with Jurrasic and all the reasons he has posted. As Rainmaker says, if the T gets the whistle BEFORE the rebound, better yet as he hears the incorrect information and BEFORE the free thrower shoots then we're OK. If the whistle doesn't come until AFTER the rebound and both teams attempted to rebound then it is correctable error and POI.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error Time2Ref Basketball 9 Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:06am
Correctable error or not? 181174 Basketball 5 Fri Jan 13, 2006 09:56am
Correctable error mplagrow Basketball 9 Sun Jan 08, 2006 08:52am
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
correctable error? zac Basketball 7 Thu Oct 10, 2002 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1