![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Funny play...Did this happen? Let me correct my self. Since the jump ball was not actually secured by a player until after the throw in after the made basket the arrow would be set towrds A basket. @ least that is what I take by the AP rule. If I'm wrong please enlighten me...
|
|
|||
What if Team A steals the ensuing throw-in pass?
![]() This question was posed to me today by one of my fellow HS officials after he saw the ball put directly into the basket from a jump ball held in the FT circle during an NBA game last night. (That player actually caught the ball with one hand and tossed it in, so the officials correctly waved off the basket for the jump ball violation.) |
|
|||
In the play you wrote. If I'm reading the AP rule correctly, Rule 4 Section 3 Art. 3 a,b,c. "The ball is placed @ the disposal of the thrower after:
a. A violation during or following the jump before [B]A players secures control.[B] b. The free throws for a noncommon foul c. A common foul before the bonus free throw is in effect. So in your play, player control never had a chance to be established. So as in B. Once the ball is @ the disposal of the thrower from the B team the arrow would be set towards A basket. If A steals the ball then the arrow would still set to A's basket since it was originally @ the disposal of the B team. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Right. They didn't happen specifically. However parts from each helps us make the right ruling, since your play isn't any any rule book or case book.
1. Player control couldn't be established because of the made basket by the A team. 2. Just as in after made free throws, after a made basket as in your play. The ball is placed @ the disposal of the thrower. ( one of the exceptions to the player control option to set arrow.) 3. The sam ewould be true if it was just a common foul. The ball is @ a disposal of a thrower. In all cases if the ball can't be in player control as in the ball reboundiing off of the rim instead of going in then the rebounding team gains player control which would set he arrow direction. In your case the ball went in. No player control can happen so that takes us to article 3. Hope its making sense... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
jump ball | John Schaefferkoetter | Basketball | 1 | Mon Feb 13, 2006 05:26pm |
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 9 | Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm |
Jump Ball | tjchamp | Basketball | 13 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 11:35am |
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball | KingTripleJump | Basketball | 21 | Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am |
Strange jump ball situation | Lotto | Basketball | 1 | Sat Dec 20, 2003 08:00pm |