The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 01:56am
jr jr is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
ncaa-m ?

ncaa-m...

a1 passed to a2...a2 tried to throw a pass to a3...a3 left the area...a2 went and got the ball...

can a2 get the ball w/o a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 04:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,710
The short answer is yes.

The explanation is longer.
Once the "pass" hits the floor it is just a long dribble. The player who threw it, A2, may go get it. If A2 grabs the ball with two hands upon reaching it, he has ended his dribble and may not start another one. If upon reaching the ball A2 continues the dribble by using only one hand, this is legal.

If A2 had already dribbled before throwing this pass then his retrieving it would be a double dribble violation.

If A2's "pass" doesn't hit the floor and A2 is able to run over and catch it that is an illegal dribble violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 07:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
It's a horribly worded question. First, it doesn't tell you what A2 did before releasing the "pass". If A2 ended a dribble before the pass, then he may NOT recover it. That would be a double dribble. It says he received a pass and then passed, so we have to assume that there was not a dribble, I guess.

Also, the question doesn't tell you whether the "pass" hits the floor before being touched by A2. If it doesn't bounce, then A2 may NOT recover it.

Nevada's answer is exactly correct. He can recover it but may not dribble. But it's a terrible question. There are about 5 questions on this year's exam that should never have made it through the editing process.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!

Last edited by ChuckElias; Fri Nov 03, 2006 at 07:23am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
It's a horribly worded question. First, it doesn't tell you what A2 did before releasing the "pass". If A2 ended a dribble before the pass, then he may NOT recover it. That would be a double dribble. It says he received a pass and then passed, so we have to assume that there was not a dribble, I guess.

Also, the question doesn't tell you whether the "pass" hits the floor before being touched by A2. If it doesn't bounce, then A2 may NOT recover it.

Nevada's answer is exactly correct. He can recover it but may not dribble. But it's a terrible question. There are about 5 questions on this year's exam that should never have made it through the editing process.
I think since the situation states that a1 passed to a2 to a3 the assumption that there is no dribble is valid.

However, it's irrelevant.

The question doesn't ask if there's a violation, since there is not enough information to determine that. The situation doesn't state whether or not the ball went from frontcourt to backcourt, or out-of-bounds, for that matter.

The question asks "Can a2 get the ball w/o a violation?" This is asking whether there is a hypothetical set of circumstances where there would not be a violation, and the answer, as you've pointed out, is yes.

Of course, whether they actually knew they were asking this or not is open to debate.
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA IFF U_of_I_Blue Softball 6 Mon May 02, 2005 10:36am
NCAA dr_donald_t Softball 2 Sat Oct 09, 2004 02:20pm
NCAA FG/XP sm_bbcoach Football 3 Thu Jan 08, 2004 04:24pm
NCAA & FED JMN Football 11 Wed May 21, 2003 01:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1