|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Timing snafu
			 
			
			Eleven seconds left in the half.  White in-bounds.  They run it down the court, pass it twice, and score.  Blue in-bounds.  They run it up the court, and there's a blocking foul on White.  There are three seconds on the clock. Just about everybody turns to me and says that the clock started late. Neither my partner nor I picked it up. (I know--that's our error. I've already beat myself up pretty bad about that, so you don't have to.) I go to the table. She says she started the clock more than three seconds late. The rule, of course, is that I as an official need to have definite knowledge to correct a timing error. If the timer seems confident about what went wrong, can that count? Which of these is the least-bad option? --Say I have no definite knowledge and give Blue their one-and-one with three seconds on the clock --Say that there should be three seconds run off the clock, but that I've called the foul, so it stands; clear the lane and give blue their one-and-one --Say that the clock should have run off before the foul--vacate the foul and start halftime. Thanks in advance. Trust me--I won't be going down this road again. 
				__________________ Visit my blog at illegalscreen.blogspot.com... | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Overtime Clock Snafu - Question | coach41 | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 09:45pm | 
| Timing | OverAndBack | Football | 6 | Tue Aug 10, 2004 06:15pm | 
| Scorekeeping snafu | theboys | Basketball | 15 | Tue Mar 04, 2003 10:00pm | 
| Timing - Timing - Timing | Steve M | Softball | 16 | Thu Jun 07, 2001 04:58pm | 
| Timing | Steve M | Softball | 1 | Mon Apr 09, 2001 09:17pm |