The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 12:13pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
Quick Question

A1 dribbles into the lane, picks their dribble up. Is there any rule that allows for this player to stay in the lane for as long as they wish because they have the ball? Another one of those things that someone told me, yet I can't find the black and white to back it up.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Someone told you that she could stay in the lane as long as they wanted because she had the ball? That's a new one for me. I'd like to see their reference on that one.
I had someone tell me last year in touney game that there were no shots on an intentional foul because the basket was good. Lesson learned: Don't always believe your partners.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
A1 dribbles into the lane, picks their dribble up. Is there any rule that allows for this player to stay in the lane for as long as they wish because they have the ball? Another one of those things that someone told me, yet I can't find the black and white to back it up.
No. You give some consideration for moving for a shot. But no, he/she cannot stay in the lane as long as he/she likes.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 12:50pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by refnrev
Someone told you that she could stay in the lane as long as they wanted because she had the ball? That's a new one for me. I'd like to see their reference on that one.
I had someone tell me last year in touney game that there were no shots on an intentional foul because the basket was good. Lesson learned: Don't always believe your partners.
Certainly... I didn't believe it yet. I want some black and white print to prove me wrong. It was a new one for me... maybe he got confused about a player taking multiple shots while in the lane...which is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
You're partner initals were not SS were they? If so, that would explain a lot!
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 12:51pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
Thanks Tony.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 12:52pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by refnrev
You're partner initals were not SS were they? If so, that would explain a lot!
Ummm, nope.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Thanks Tony.
Think about this. If he/she was in the lane for 5 seconds, what are the chances that he/she will find himself with a closed guarded call?

5 seconds, max.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 08:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,009
More Than Three Seconds ??

There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt. Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
If they are making an attempt to score I leave it be. If they kick out and leave immediately upon kicking the ball out they are ok in my books
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
If they are making an attempt to score I leave it be. If they kick out and leave immediately upon kicking the ball out they are ok in my books
So if the player is in the lane with the ball for 5 seconds and then passes it out, you don't have either a 3 second or a 5 second violation?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 12:17pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal.
Familiarly known as NFHS rule 9-7-3 verbatim.....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
So if the player is in the lane with the ball for 5 seconds and then passes it out, you don't have either a 3 second or a 5 second violation?
That would be correct.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
That would be correct.
So you allow the defense to be drawn to a player with the ball in the lane, allow him to be in there an illegal length of time, and then allow him to dish it out to an unguarded teammate for an open shot?

You don't think that's creating an advantage for the team with the ball?

I've NEVER heard ANYONE suggest that this isn't a violation or shouldn't be called. So I'm really interested in your thought process.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sun Oct 08, 2006 at 08:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 08, 2006, 06:48pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs down

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
So if the player is in the lane with the ball for 5 seconds and then passes it out, you don't have either a 3 second or a 5 second violation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
That would be correct.
Actually, there's a word to describe this - "WRONG"!
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question! NorthSide Basketball 6 Thu Feb 16, 2006 09:02pm
Quick Question brandan89 Basketball 0 Tue Jan 10, 2006 01:58pm
Quick question KenThree Basketball 3 Wed Jan 04, 2006 03:38pm
Quick Question NorthSide Basketball 11 Tue Nov 30, 2004 01:25pm
Quick Question Swanny Basketball 12 Tue Nov 19, 2002 01:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1