![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Lemme see if I got this right now according to your logic, Chuck...
Ending a dribble is completely different than ending a dribble. If you dribble again after ending your dribble, it is a violation......except ...... if you dribble again after ending your dribble, it is not a violation...sometimes. The key to making the right call is to ascertain where and how the first dribble ended, not whether the first dribble actually had ended(that is a given). Palming the ball is only obvious and a violation if there is a defender within a certain number of feet- such distance known only to Chuck. Nobody else in the gym can recognize palming. That pretty much sum up your philosophy? Methinks you and BillyMac must go to the same camps.
Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Oct 10, 2006 at 06:04am. |
|
|||
|
I know you're being silly, but the palming violation should be called just like a slight bump. Sometimes that bump is incidental, sometimes that same amount of contact is a foul -- depending on how it affects the bumped player.
Sometimes the palming is a violation, sometimes that same palming is incidental -- depending on how it affects the defender. If you're smart enough to judge incidental contact, then you're smart enough to judge whether A1 gains an advantage by palming the ball. I won't venture a guess as to whether you're smart enough to judge incidental contact.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt violation | lukealex | Basketball | 41 | Sat Mar 04, 2006 09:48am |
| Backcourt violation? | Jimgolf | Basketball | 26 | Fri Aug 26, 2005 03:01pm |
| Backcourt violation? | BADAMFS | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:08am |
| Backcourt Violation ? | tnroundballref | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 05, 2004 08:20pm |
| Backcourt Violation or not | KEmerick12 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Feb 29, 2000 06:37pm |