![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If a player has the ball come to rest on his palm for....oh, to just pick a number....one second in the back court, then that's not a violation if he continues dribbling. But if a player in the front court also lets the ball come to rest for one second, then dribbles again, it is a violation. Correct? So.......since they are the exact same violation, can I also extrapolate that it's true that if you touch the ball with both hands in the back court with no defensive pressure and then dribble again, then that isn't a violation either? But, if you touch the ball with both hands in the front court and dribble again, you do have a violation. Correct? Please bear in mind that in both cases, the dribbler is committing the exact same act and they are both equally obvious to everyone in the gym, as well as people watching at home. The only difference is that one act occurs in the back court and the other, similar act occurs in the front court. But....one should be called and the other one shouldn't. Right? Or is there something that I'm still not understanding here, being not too bright to begin with? Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Oct 09, 2006 at 08:56pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
If, on the other hand, there's pressure and he palms the ball and the defender bites, thinking that the dribble has ended, we have to call it b/c it allowed the dribbler to beat the defense.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Lemme see if I got this right now according to your logic, Chuck...
Ending a dribble is completely different than ending a dribble. If you dribble again after ending your dribble, it is a violation......except ...... if you dribble again after ending your dribble, it is not a violation...sometimes. The key to making the right call is to ascertain where and how the first dribble ended, not whether the first dribble actually had ended(that is a given). Palming the ball is only obvious and a violation if there is a defender within a certain number of feet- such distance known only to Chuck. Nobody else in the gym can recognize palming. That pretty much sum up your philosophy? Methinks you and BillyMac must go to the same camps. ![]() Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Oct 10, 2006 at 06:04am. |
|
|||
I know you're being silly, but the palming violation should be called just like a slight bump. Sometimes that bump is incidental, sometimes that same amount of contact is a foul -- depending on how it affects the bumped player.
Sometimes the palming is a violation, sometimes that same palming is incidental -- depending on how it affects the defender. If you're smart enough to judge incidental contact, then you're smart enough to judge whether A1 gains an advantage by palming the ball. I won't venture a guess as to whether you're smart enough to judge incidental contact. ![]()
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
In addition, I will give the benefit of the doubt to the player in the backcourt (although I might say something to him quietly), but not to the player using the move to actually beat his man. |
|
|||
Quote:
And, to make myself totally clear(hopefully), the assumption that I'm making is that the calling official definitely sees an obvious violation, but then chooses to ignore it. An illegal second dribble does not depend on how the first dribble ended; it depends on whether the first dribble actually did end or not. |
|
|||
I know it's obvious, but there isn't going to be any consensus reached on a philosophical question like this one.
For me, in a high school game, I'm probably going to call an obvious palm, even if the dribbler isn't being defended. At the JC level, I'm not.
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson) Z |
|
|||
Since Dan brought in the baseball reference, I'll throw in a football one...sweep play to left side...runner is already 5 yards downfield and on the left sideline. Right tackle is holding the defensive end 15 yards away from the play. White Hat does not throw flag...was it a hold? Yep...did it have any impact on the play or the game? Nope...
Isn't that the same idea being used here on these violations...understand I am not voting for or against this philosophy, just pointing out that it is used in all sports, not just basketball... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt violation | lukealex | Basketball | 41 | Sat Mar 04, 2006 09:48am |
Backcourt violation? | Jimgolf | Basketball | 26 | Fri Aug 26, 2005 03:01pm |
Backcourt violation? | BADAMFS | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:08am |
Backcourt Violation ? | tnroundballref | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 05, 2004 08:20pm |
Backcourt Violation or not | KEmerick12 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Feb 29, 2000 06:37pm |