![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A dribble ends when the ball is palmed/carried by the dribbler or the dribbler touches the ball with both hands. In both cases, if the player dribbles again, it is a violation for an illegal second dribble. But.....under similar circumstances--i.e. in the backcourt with no defensive pressure, you would let the violation go in one case but not the other. Could you please explain to my uneducated mind just exactly what your rationale is for doing so? They are the exact same violation, by rule, aren't they? What is the difference
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
"Call the obvious". I told you that you weren't gonna like it.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Are you saying that if you have an obvious palm/carry in the backcourt, with no defensive pressure, you would call the violation? Could you then please explain exactly what the difference is between what is "obvious" and what is "not obvious" is when it comes to a palm/carry? I just want to know what criteria that one should use to either call the violation or ignore the violation....bearing in mind that both are violations no matter what. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
...a palm in the back court with no defensive pressure is not obvious. The baseball guys have a term for this type of call - it's a F you call. However, if A1 palms the ball to beat his defender on a drive to the basket...THAT'S an obvious call. It's very simple, once you own the magic decoder ring.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If a player has the ball come to rest on his palm for....oh, to just pick a number....one second in the back court, then that's not a violation if he continues dribbling. But if a player in the front court also lets the ball come to rest for one second, then dribbles again, it is a violation. Correct? So.......since they are the exact same violation, can I also extrapolate that it's true that if you touch the ball with both hands in the back court with no defensive pressure and then dribble again, then that isn't a violation either? But, if you touch the ball with both hands in the front court and dribble again, you do have a violation. Correct? Please bear in mind that in both cases, the dribbler is committing the exact same act and they are both equally obvious to everyone in the gym, as well as people watching at home. The only difference is that one act occurs in the back court and the other, similar act occurs in the front court. But....one should be called and the other one shouldn't. Right? Or is there something that I'm still not understanding here, being not too bright to begin with? Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Oct 09, 2006 at 08:56pm. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
If, on the other hand, there's pressure and he palms the ball and the defender bites, thinking that the dribble has ended, we have to call it b/c it allowed the dribbler to beat the defense.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In addition, I will give the benefit of the doubt to the player in the backcourt (although I might say something to him quietly), but not to the player using the move to actually beat his man. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt violation | lukealex | Basketball | 41 | Sat Mar 04, 2006 09:48am |
| Backcourt violation? | Jimgolf | Basketball | 26 | Fri Aug 26, 2005 03:01pm |
| Backcourt violation? | BADAMFS | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:08am |
| Backcourt Violation ? | tnroundballref | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 05, 2004 08:20pm |
| Backcourt Violation or not | KEmerick12 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Feb 29, 2000 06:37pm |