The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 06, 2006, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
I have played in a game, it was decided simply. With 6 seconds left we threw a long pass to do a fast break. THe official steps in the way, gets the ball on him and it goes OOB. Other teams ball, we lose by one.

Officals can surley be out of position
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 06, 2006, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy voyager
Officals can surley be out of position
Yes, they can. But don't call me Shirley.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 06, 2006, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
So the consensus is that both situations are legal? Even tho the person is touching in the backcourt in both cases? If the ref is part of the floor, and is touching the backcourt, doesn't that make him in the backcourt? I just want to have some good rationale before I go back to the class with an answer.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 06, 2006, 01:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
So the consensus is that both situations are legal? Even tho the person is touching in the backcourt in both cases? If the ref is part of the floor, and is touching the backcourt, doesn't that make him in the backcourt? I just want to have some good rationale before I go back to the class with an answer.
Yes. Yes. Yes but only the part of the official that is actually touching the backcourt.

Your rationale is "What Would Woddy Do?"

or.....

The player's foot touched the part of the official located in the front court. Using the exact same logic, if he hadda stepped on the backcourt foot, the player woulda stepped in the backcourt.

Foot touching in the frontcourt = frontcourt; foot touching in the backcourt = backcourt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation lukealex Basketball 41 Sat Mar 04, 2006 09:48am
Backcourt violation? Jimgolf Basketball 26 Fri Aug 26, 2005 03:01pm
Backcourt violation? BADAMFS Basketball 2 Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:08am
Backcourt Violation ? tnroundballref Basketball 28 Thu Feb 05, 2004 08:20pm
Backcourt Violation or not KEmerick12 Basketball 6 Tue Feb 29, 2000 06:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1