The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
I'm not sure if this is a technical foul or not. Rule 10-3-4 says that "a player shall not grasp either basket during the time of the official's jurisdiction...". I can not find anyplace in Rule 4 where the "basket" is defined. Rule 4-6-1 says it is basket interference when a player "touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket."

My take on it is that since the rules committee put "including the net" in parentheses in 4-6-1, then the net is normally not considered a part of the basket, and therefore it is not a technical foul to grab the net.

In the original post I think the correct call is basket interference. Since the ball went in then no call is correct, but I really don't think the rules support a technical foul in this situation. Anyone have any other thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Okay, I just answered my own question. Rule 1-10-1 does say that the net is considered part of the basket, so I am wrong above and you could call a technical foul for grabbing the net. However, in the original post it still leaves basket interference as a possible call, which I would probably call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 09:50pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
Okay, I just answered my own question. Rule 1-10-1 does say that the net is considered part of the basket, so I am wrong above and you could call a technical foul for grabbing the net. However, in the original post it still leaves basket interference as a possible call, which I would probably call.
Evry time I've seen a play where the defensive player grabs the net, BI is usally the call.
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 11:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
Okay, I just answered my own question. Rule 1-10-1 does say that the net is considered part of the basket, so I am wrong above and you could call a technical foul for grabbing the net. However, in the original post it still leaves basket interference as a possible call, which I would probably call.
B-I is meaningless, since the ball went in. If the kid does a chin up, call a T. If he swipes the net, let it go. Anywhere in between takes judgment.


This has been your Blinding Flash of the Obvious (BFO) for the day.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
B-I is meaningless, since the ball went in. If the kid does a chin up, call a T. If he swipes the net, let it go. Anywhere in between takes judgment.


This has been your Blinding Flash of the Obvious (BFO) for the day.
Adam,
While what you are saying about BI is fine in terms of the effect upon the game, you know that it is not the rules book answer. If jonny is looking for that, then we need to tell him that the ball becomes dead when a BI violation is committed and whether the ball goes in or not doesn't matter. Points will either be awarded or cancelled according to the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 339
Quote:
Until REFVA responds and tells us exactly where the ball was when the player grabbed the net, we can't say if BI should have been called or not.
Sorry for the delay guys, I was at the Big East development camp in Chantilly va,

Anyway. Basket goes in and defender does as if he is in the chin up Olympics. Hell yea he got a T. Matter of fact I spoke with some other officials last week. They said the same. BI, basket goes in, award basket, hit em with T.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
Rule 4-6-1 says it is basket interference when a player "touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket."

...

In the original post I think the correct call is basket interference. Since the ball went in then no call is correct, but I really don't think the rules support a technical foul in this situation. Anyone have any other thoughts?
1. Good that you answered your own question about the net being part of the basket. Now you will always know that one.

2. As far as the BI call goes, now you understand why I asked REFVA these questions earlier in the thread! Unfortunately, he only answered the last one. So right now, we just don't know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref

2.) Some questions about your particular play:
Could you please specify what you mean by the underlined part?
Is the ball ON/touching the ring or is it merely ABOVE the ring IN the imaginary cylinder?
Lastly, was this 2-man or 3, and were you Lead, C, or Trail on this play?
Until REFVA responds and tells us exactly where the ball was when the player grabbed the net, we can't say if BI should have been called or not.
However, we do know that it is a technical foul in either case. If the ball was ON or within the basket, then calling BOTH BI and a T is correct. If the ball was above the ring and not touching it, then the T is still correct, and BI would only be called if the grasping of the net pulled down the movable ring and it contacted the ball prior to returning to its normal position.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BB situation Shmuelg Baseball 6 Wed Apr 06, 2005 09:24am
Situation Roger Bridges Softball 47 Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:56am
OOB situation IURef Basketball 6 Thu Mar 04, 2004 05:46pm
TO situation ChuckElias Basketball 21 Wed Dec 04, 2002 08:54pm
No Win Situation???? Gulf Coast Blue Softball 3 Sat Jun 23, 2001 06:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1