![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() If a player swings at another player and misses, and the second player retaliates by swinging and knocking the first kid cold, breaking his nose and jaw at the same time, would you issue different fouls? We're just gonna have to disagree on this one. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jun 27, 2006 at 01:14pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
If it had happened alone, without retaliation, would you (could you) have called a T? No. By your assertions in prior posts, live ball contact can only be a personal foul, not a technical. The fighting rule says that unsporting acts can be considered fighting if they lead to a fight. However, unsporting acts are, by definition, non-contact technical fouls. That means that the actions of the elbow/push can not be an unsporting act/foul. Therefore, it can't be fighting under the retaliation clause. The only way you can peg the elbow/push as fighting is if you consider it a fighting act by itself. Doing so means that any hard foul would become fighting if the fouled player takes offense. Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
2) I've already posted multi-times that if the push happened alone, I would call an intentional personal foul. That's my own personal judgement after viewing the push. 3) Agree and I've already posted to that effect. That's an intentional personal foul per existing rules. Have you got a rule that you can cite that states differently? 4) Could you please cite a rules definition that says unsporting acts are by definition non-contact technical fouls? I'm certainly not aware of anything in the rules that says that. Read NFHS rule 4-19-4. It completely contradicts that statement. Or are you saying that you think that kicking or kneeing an opponent without the ball isn't an unsporting act? Also see casebook play 10.4.5SitA- that talks about a fight. Note that both players charged with fighting in that case play received flagrant personal fouls. And you are also saying that it then can't be fighting under the retaliation clause? You're kidding, right? To have fighting, it doesn't matter whether the ball is live or dead. Says so right in R4-18- Fighting is a flagrant act and can occur when the ball is dead or live". Whatever point you're trying to make here isn't covered by any rule that I'm aware of. 5) Yup, if you consider that hard foul as instigating a fight, it suresheck does become fighting if the person that was fouled retaliated by fighting. Says so right in NFHS 4-18-2 and NCAA 4-23-3(b). Sure it's a judgement call, but I don't believe in letting a kid that started a fight just skate because he happened to get the sh!t kicked out of him. 6) I disagree vehemently. Attempting to strike somebody with a fist is no different at all, by the rules that I've cited, than pushing somebody if both acts lead directly to a fight breaking out. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jun 27, 2006 at 08:40pm. |
|
||||||
Quote:
4-19-4, as you reference, is defining a flagrant foul (personal or technical), not an unsporting foul. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
True, the ball can be live or dead. But retaliation to an foul that was not considered a fighting action on it's own doesn't make the original foul a fight. Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jun 28, 2006 at 02:26am. |
|
|||
Quote:
I ain't gonna convince you- fer sure- so we're just gonna haveta disagree. Btw, after viewing that video, what would you call? |
|
|||
Quote:
Based on the video, I'd have an intentional foul on one and flagrant on the other.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
So, from JR's previous posts this is what he's saying......... Player A1 grabs the back of player B1 jersey running up the court. 1) JR has an intentional personal foul on A1. B1 turns and looks at A1 but does nothing. 2) JR has an intentional personal foul on A1. B1 turns and takes a swing at A1. JR now changes that personal foul to a flagrant on A1 because B1 retaliates with fighting, and A1 was the instigator. So how can the same action by A1 result in different calls?? Just by the reaction of B1?? Don't think so. A flagrant foul is for fouls of violent or savage in nature. Grabbing the back of one's jersey does not qualify, neither does the elbow/push. I don't believe the FED is into punishing A1 for B1's uncontrollable actions.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Pre-Game Fight | tjones1 | Basketball | 19 | Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:11am |
Fight | brandan89 | Basketball | 5 | Thu Jun 09, 2005 08:21pm |
I went to a fight and hockey game broke out. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 4 | Sun Feb 20, 2005 10:47pm |
fight after game | bethsdad | Softball | 4 | Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:14pm |
fight | Tim Roden | Basketball | 24 | Thu Mar 08, 2001 08:12am |