The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2006, 01:29pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Search "cowardly" and you'll find the thread.
I had found the thread alright Correactable error, but the only one who appeared to answer the question was Ken himself.

I can understand the crew's reluctance in this situation b/c the correctable error rule is horrible as it applies to this situation. Basically, the team loses the points from the unmerited free throws and the possesion they should have had as a result of the foul while the offending team is allowed to keep its 2 points.

The correctable error rule needs a major overhaul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon May 22, 2006 at 03:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2006, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 47
Here's the ruling as interpreted by the folks mentioned in the brief artilce that appeared in Referee Magazine during the basketball season:


The following play was brought to our attention at Referee and illustrates the need for understanding team control and the correctable error rule. After sorting out the specifics and being unable to find an appropriate caseplay or ruling, we were amazed to find the incredible number of intricacies within the play. Through discussions with Mary Struckhoff (NFHS assistant director and basketball rulebook editor), Ed Bilik (NCAA men’s basketball rules editor) and Barbara Jacobs (NCAA women’s basketball rules editor), Referee was able to secure the proper ruling and interpretation for the play. This play can and should serve as a valuable learning tool for all officials.

Play: Team A brings the ball over the division line with 13 seconds left in the first half (second quarter). A1 is dribbling the ball near the top of the key when B1 knocks the ball away toward the sideline. In the scramble for the loose ball, A1 is whistled for a pushing foul with 6.5 seconds remaining (team A’s seventh team foul). Erroneously, the officials issue a bonus free-throw attempt to B1 who proceeds to make both free throws. The ball is then inbounded to A2 who dribbles the length of the floor and puts in a jumpshot from the free-throw line extended. The ball passes through the hoop and is bouncing on the floor when the horn sounds and the quarter expires. No player from team B had picked up the ball. The officials switch the possession arrow to indicate team A will have the ball to start the second half and head to the locker room. The officials discuss the play in the locker room and determine that the last foul should have been a team-control foul. But now, can the still correct the error and is so, what is the resulting penalty?

Ruling: In determining whether or not the error can be corrected, the timeframe and action after the error must be examined. The error occurred during a dead ball and involved the awarding of unmerited free throws. After the unmerited free throws, the ball became live when team A grabbed the ball to complete the inbounds pass. The ball remained live until the ball passed through the basket on A2’s shot attempt, at which time a dead ball ensued. The ball remained dead when the horn sounded and quarter expired serving as the point of interruption. The halftime period now became the longest dead-ball period possible within the game. Since a second live ball had not occurred, the timeframe to correct the error was still available (NFHS 2-10-2; NCAA 2-11-1). Team B loses the two points that were gained from the shooting of the unmerited free throws. The points are taken off the board and removed from the scorebook. Team A is allowed to keep the two points from the final basket since points scored prior to the recognition of the error shall not be nullified (NFHS 2-11-5; NCAA 2-11-3a). The point of interruption was halftime. For that reason, the ball will be put back in play via the AP arrow and possession is awarded to team A.

Team B’s coach is undoubtedly not going to be real pleased. Correctable errors are always bound to leave one team feeling like they got the shaft. However, to make the best of an unfortunate situation, it is extremely important to understand how to properly apply correctable errors when they have occurred.
__________________
Making the Call & Getting It Right
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2006, 02:55pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Thanks for posting that Ken...while I would like to think I would have been smart enough to figger that all out during the 6 min. or so we get to talk at halftime, I must admit that the way you handled it in the original posting made sense to me also...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fact Vs. Fiction JIGGY Baseball 27 Sat Apr 22, 2006 02:13am
I Love This Job.... brandan89 Basketball 13 Tue Jun 07, 2005 08:12am
I would love to officiate Jeremy40 Basketball 9 Thu Feb 14, 2002 06:23pm
How Do You Work With A Partner Who Is Very Difficult To Work With? Love2ref4Ever Basketball 22 Sat Apr 28, 2001 05:06pm
I love this job!!! Matt S. Basketball 10 Wed Dec 13, 2000 11:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1