![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Now... you tell me.... if a player shoots a technical free throw out-of-order, what correctible error has been committed under rule 2-10-1? - Did the team not get the first FT for the technical foul that they should have? Yes, they sureasheckdid. Can't use 2-10-1(a) then... - Was an unmerited FT awarded? Nope, the first FT that was taken for the "T" certainly was merited. Can't use rule 2-10-1(b) either.... - Did a wrong player take the first FT for the technical foul? Nope, any player can shoot the FT's for a "T". There goes 2-10-1(c) out the door too.... - Did they attempt a FT at the wrong basket? Uh, no. Bye-bye rule 2-10-1(d). That one doesn't apply. - Did anyone erroneously count or cancel a score? Not as far as I can see. That takes care of rule 2-10-1(e). That's all the correctable errors that there are, Dribble, i.e. the 5 listed under rule 2-10-1. Shooting free throws out-of-order isn't a correctable error per se. If all 4 FT's had been shot out-of-order, you cannot go back and re-shoot them. There is nothing in the rules that will allow you to do that. And if you still don't believe me, read casebook play 8.7SitB. That might just change your mind. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
How is he continuing to harp? He was just T'd and your partner has told him he has to sit. If anything, stand on the other side of the lane. If he's going to harp, he'll do it if you're at the other end of the court, regardless and I hope my partner(s) will deal accordingly. Snake-eyes, when it comes to player T's, I'll still give the explaination but I'm not hanging out to chatter. I've got free throws to administer. That's the way they want it done in my parts. ![]()
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Thanks to those that replied. We all try to use both the rule book and common sense when we make calls and to correct things when we screw up. Unfortunely, sometime the rules don't support common sense and the rules have to take precedent. (How many of you have given the ball to the wrong team for a throw-in and whistled it back after the thow-in ended when you reconized your error.)
I did like JR's answer and the reasons for it. Truth be known, nobody in the gym would have known the difference if we shot the penalities out of order or not. In retrospect I should have let it go, but I try to use these out of season contests to improve and learn. Funny how a little pressure changes you thought processes.
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Sorry, I accidentally omitted the "2" before my rule reference...I've made the edit...
Casebook play 8.7b doesn't apply because all the FTs haven't been administered as per that case. Thus, the case you present isn't applicable. The official caught himself following only one free throw that wasn't merited yet at that point in the game. I think we can argue the wording of the correctable errors in this situation. I argue that the 1st correctable error situation (a) also applies in addition to what I posted above because you failed to award a merited free throw, which was the one for the foul on the FG try. You still haven't provided a reference that allows you to interrupt the sequence of FTs. i.e. shoot the 1st technical FT, then the two FTs for the shooting foul, followed by the 2nd T. That makes no sense to me at all. |
|
|||
Quote:
Argue all you want. Let me know when you find some rules language to back up your argument. Until then....... ![]() |
|
|||
The part that I don't understand because it doesn't apply is "Since ALL merited free throws were attempted." Re-read the OP, only ONE FT was attempted; thus, your case does not apply!
I can understand the casebook sit and the logic behind it if ALL merited FTs were taken. What's the point of going back and re-shooting all 4 FTs if they were all taken?!? This situation is unique to that. Does that make sense to you? |
|
|||
My take: If the official "announced" (using a broad definition of the word) that the first FT was for the T, then it was for the T and it's not correctable -- continue with the FT for the second T, then those for the foul. If the official "announced" that it was for the blocking foul, then it was for the blocking foul, and is a correctible error. If the official made no "annoncement", then I think you have to go with "intent" -- and here it seems both the official and the player understood that the T was being shot.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|