The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 08, 2006, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
I saw this play and this should be slot's call. It was a curl play going away from lead and coming towards slot. I was suprised to see this changed to an inadvertant whistle.

There have also been 2 blarges in the last couple of days. Both took place in the Cleveland vs Washington series.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 09, 2006, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 231
I don't think we're talking about the same play. The one that Javie called was right in front of him as the lead and Forte was the tableside trail. Thus, the slot was completely out of the play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 09, 2006, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dribble
I don't think we're talking about the same play. The one that Javie called was right in front of him as the lead and Forte was the tableside trail. Thus, the slot was completely out of the play.
No we are talking about the same play. At least I hope that Javie didn't have 2 inadvertant whistles .

A1 is posting up B1 in the post right in front of Javie. A1 then spins towards the lane and this is where C has the best look at the play. The NBA wants C to make this call because they are looking right through the players. Javie made the foul call but he was straight lined and didn't have a good look at it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 09, 2006, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
It wasn't actually a post-up play yet. The defender ran from the baseline to swat the ball away as soon as the offensive player received a pass - so there was no time to set up and make an offensive move. The offensive player was beginning a turn to the basket (from what I recall), but the defender arrived immediately after charging in from several feet away. I think this is what Dribbler is pointing out - it was not a set offensive play. Javie must have responded to the speed with which the defender charged up, or reacted to something other than a clear hit on the arms, otherwise I'm sure he would not have backed down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
inadvertent Whistle malloy Basketball 8 Tue Dec 13, 2005 09:26pm
Inadvertent Whistle Suudy Football 2 Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:45am
Inadvertent whistle Bart Tyson Basketball 1 Fri Jan 16, 2004 04:39pm
Inadvertent Whistle? Endzone Football 7 Fri Oct 17, 2003 09:56pm
Inadvertent Whistle Rev.Ref63 Basketball 29 Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1