The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 05:50am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by New2AZref
The following happened earlier today:

Ball is being inbounded in the frontcourt, near midcourt, opposite tableside, by Team A.

A1 is throwing the ball inbounds, and throws it towards the backcourt.

A2, who has both feet in the frontcourt, jumps to catch the ball.

After securing the ball in the air, A2 then lands in the backcourt.

My call: Backcourt Violation.

My partners call: legal play

We got together on this, and he insisted that it was a legal play...and did so in front of the coach to begin with...... and during our conversation it was obvious that he didnt agree with my call.

Rather than argue, after the conference, I blew my whistle and we gave Team A the ball back.

Constructive Criticism Please
Your partner had the right call under both NFHS and NCAA rules. That's a legal play.

The NFHS rules citation is rule 9-9-3.

Your partner was wrong though in insisting that he was right in front of the coach. That conversation shoulda been held just between the the two of you, and in a spot where nobody else could hear what you two were saying. That procedure should be set in your pre-game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 118
Excuse me but was this exactly a legal play in NCAA or NFHS?
Regarding FIBA, this is obviously a back.
__________________
-- Luis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis
Excuse me but was this exactly a legal play in NCAA or NFHS?
Regarding FIBA, this is obviously a back.
Yes, it's legal in FED and NCAA.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Can you point me to the rule that refers to this situation in the NCAA rulebook?

How about the NBA rulebook? What is the call there?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 10:09am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by New2AZref
Can you point me to the rule that refers to this situation in the NCAA rulebook?

How about the NBA rulebook? What is the call there?

Thanks
The NCAA cite is rule 9-12-6.

Don't know and don't care about the NBA.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The NCAA cite is rule 9-12-6.

Don't know and don't care about the NBA.
Could somebody please quote that rule for me?

I'm intrested becuse as Luis said, this is a bc violation in fiba
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy voyager
Could somebody please quote that rule for me?

I'm intrested becuse as Luis said, this is a bc violation in fiba
This link will download the NCAA rulebook. You can read it yourself. I think the reference is 9-12-5 however.

http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...ball_rules.pdf

Last edited by Jay R; Sun Apr 30, 2006 at 11:23am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 185
Send a message via MSN to BOBBYMO Send a message via Yahoo to BOBBYMO
Pro rule.... Yes and No

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy voyager
Could somebody please quote that rule for me?

I'm intrested becuse as Luis said, this is a bc violation in fiba
In US Pro Rules it MAY OR MAY NOT be be a violation:

Any ball out of bounds in a teams front court or at the midcourt line cannot be passed into the back court On all backcourt and midcourt violations, the ball shall be awarded to the opposing team at the midcourtline and must be passed into the frontcourt.

EXCEPTION: During the last 2 min's of the 4th period and/or any overtime period the ball may be passed anywhere ( front court or backcourt) on the court.

Hope this helps!!! This is also one of many reasons we must have the clock awareness at all times........talked about in another post.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation lukealex Basketball 41 Sat Mar 04, 2006 09:48am
Backcourt violation??? UmpJM Basketball 1 Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:15pm
backcourt violation? roadking Basketball 9 Tue Dec 28, 2004 03:09pm
Backcourt Violation SteveF Basketball 11 Wed Jan 14, 2004 01:00pm
Backcourt violation? jroche Basketball 34 Fri Dec 21, 2001 01:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1