View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 01:43am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
NC/MD womens semifinal. MD scores with 27 seconds remaining. Clock stops. NC Player rolls ball up court. As the ball nears division line the clock starts before the ball is touched. The referee blows whistle, and corrects the clock back to proper time. She then administers throwin for NC at the division line. Announcer explained by saying it was an "inadvertant whistle".

Watching at a relatives house and no NCAA rule books handy.

This could also happen in NF for example if there was a timeout following the made basket.

My gut says have to go back to baseline.

What would you do...NF or NCAA? Rule references please?
Daryl, the NCAA rules cite is rule 2-6-1AR10:
With four seconds left on the game clock, A1 is throwing in the ball to A2. The timer incorrectly starts the game clock before the passed ball touches or is legally touched by an in-bounds player. The official recognized the timer's mistake while the passed ball is in flight.
RULING: Since the timer has made a mistake, the official, with definite knowledge, shall place the correct time back on the game clock. Play shall be resumed with a throw-in by team A from the original throw-in spot.


Looks like they screwed that one up.

There is no definitive ruling under NFHS rules. I would handle it the same way as the NCAA. MTD Sr. wouldn't. This will now give you and him something to do during those long drives to AAU tournaments.
Reply With Quote