The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Where is throw-in spot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25899-where-throw-spot.html)

Daryl H. Long Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:43pm

Where is throw-in spot?
 
NC/MD womens semifinal. MD scores with 27 seconds remaining. Clock stops. NC Player rolls ball up court. As the ball nears division line the clock starts before the ball is touched. The referee blows whistle, and corrects the clock back to proper time. She then administers throwin for NC at the division line. Announcer explained by saying it was an "inadvertant whistle".

Watching at a relatives house and no NCAA rule books handy.

This could also happen in NF for example if there was a timeout following the made basket.

My gut says have to go back to baseline.

What would you do...NF or NCAA? Rule references please?

tmp44 Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:48pm

I don't have my books w/ me but I would say TI is spot closest to where the ball was when the whistle was blown..similar to the ball is taken OOB at the spot closest to where a violation occurs.

Daryl H. Long Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmp44
I don't have my books w/ me but I would say TI is spot closest to where the ball was when the whistle was blown..similar to the ball is taken OOB at the spot closest to where a violation occurs.

1. No violation has occurred.
2. Remember we have a live ball inbounds and untouched. The throw in has not been completed.

Again, my gut tells me that the NCAA rules specifiacally address how to put the ball in play after an inadvertant whistle and if I remember correctly it say if the throw in has not been completed the throw in would be administered from the original throw in spot. To me this means take it back to the baseline.

Daryl H. Long Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:24pm

To clarify a point:

I really do not believe this falls under the definition of "inadvertant whistle"...as mentioned by the announcer.

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 03, 2006 01:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
NC/MD womens semifinal. MD scores with 27 seconds remaining. Clock stops. NC Player rolls ball up court. As the ball nears division line the clock starts before the ball is touched. The referee blows whistle, and corrects the clock back to proper time. She then administers throwin for NC at the division line. Announcer explained by saying it was an "inadvertant whistle".

Watching at a relatives house and no NCAA rule books handy.

This could also happen in NF for example if there was a timeout following the made basket.

My gut says have to go back to baseline.

What would you do...NF or NCAA? Rule references please?

Daryl, the NCAA rules cite is rule 2-6-1AR10:
<i>With four seconds left on the game clock, A1 is throwing in the ball to A2. The timer incorrectly starts the game clock before the passed ball touches or is legally touched by an in-bounds player. The official recognized the timer's mistake while the passed ball is in flight.
<b>RULING:</b> Since the timer has made a mistake, the official, with definite knowledge, shall place the correct time back on the game clock. <b>Play shall be resumed with a throw-in by team A from the original throw-in spot</b>.</i>

Looks like they screwed that one up.

There is no definitive ruling under NFHS rules. I would handle it the same way as the NCAA. MTD Sr. wouldn't. This will now give you and him something to do during those long drives to AAU tournaments. :)

PGCougar Mon Apr 03, 2006 08:03am

There was no replay, but it seemed to me that a MD defender jumped into the backcourt to force UNC to pick up the ball. The MD defender jabbed and then retreated. It did look like UNC touched the ball slightly as the ball rolled in a different direction after the touch and the clock started running. That's when the whistle occurred and the official approached the table.

Question: Should the timer be watching the official to start on their signal or the ball? Sorry, don't have my booklets handy today.

sphinxicu Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:58am

Throw-In Spot
 
Agree with the previous person that the spot goes back to the original TI spot on the endline. At the NCAA level all the officials are using the Precision Time box on their waistband so if the button was not pushed by the new trail official in that scenario then the clock should not have been started. It was a good catch by the T but it should gone back to the endline.

mb

ChuckElias Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sphinxicu
At the NCAA level all the officials are using the Precision Time box on their waistband

Are we sure about this? :confused:

OHBBREF Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:42pm

this would be from the spot of the original throw in since no time has run off the clock. If the clock has started then I would inbound POI

but the anouncer once again blew the call since it isn't an inadvertant whistle.

Did the camera man do antything wrong on this play cause everyone else blew it.:eek:

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF
this would be from the spot of the original throw in <font color = red>since no time has run off the clock. If the clock has started then I would inbound POI</font>

Say what?:confused:

Please go back and re-read the original post of this thread. You very obviously mis-read it. It says that the clock started <B>before</b> the ball was touched. Time suresasheck did run off the clock; that's why it was a timer's mistake.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1