![]() |
|
View Poll Results: Was it a block or a charge? | |||
Block |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
13 | 61.90% |
Charge |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
8 | 38.10% |
Can't tell, even on replay |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
0 | 0% |
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll |
![]() |
|
LinkBack
![]() |
Thread Tools
![]() |
Rate Thread
![]() |
Display Modes
![]() |
|
|
|||
Mason/UConn block or charge?
With 0.8 seconds left, a George Mason player drove the lane and put up a shot. There was contact and a blocking foul was called against UConn. Correct call?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
I don't know Chuck. Looked like a charge from my livingroom, but I'm a long way away -- several thousand miles, and probably 6 or eight levels of play. Still the replay looked like it could go either way. Is this one of those "I wouldn't call that a charge at this point in the game!" thiings?
And how do I vote? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
From my angle that the defender bellied up the ball handler the ball entered the lane. The problem is the best angle was from behind the defender. I say block at this time.
__________________
Treat everyone as you would like to be treated. |
|
|||
At the arena it looked like a charge. They showed the replay on the big screen albeit only once and at game speed. I tried to follow by watching the D like you all suggest and it still looked like a charge, but I'll disqualify myself as since I'm a UConn alum. I'd love to see another replay if one is available somehwere.
__________________
There are two kinds of fools: One says, “This is old, therefore it is good”; the other says, “This is new, therefore it is better.” - W.R. Inge Last edited by PGCougar; Sun Mar 26, 2006 at 09:37pm. |
|
|||
It was clearly a PC.
Nelson, the UConn defender, definitely got to the spot with both feet on the floor and facing his opponent, Mason's Campbell, before the shooter's back foot left the floor. After reaching this position all the defender did was straighten up because his knees were bent quite a bit. He is certainly allowed to move within his vertical plane. His hands were up and out and the contact was in the upper chest. Scott Thornley missed this one and it cost UConn three points. PS This is about as objective as it gets since as a Georgetown guy, I can't stand UConn. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block or Charge? | tomegun | Basketball | 37 | Wed May 04, 2005 06:54pm |
Block/Charge | jcash | Basketball | 55 | Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm |
Block/charge | 164troyave | Basketball | 41 | Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm |
block/charge | wolfe44 | Basketball | 11 | Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am |
Block??/Charge?? | Ron Pilo | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 27, 1999 10:51pm |