Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by JRutledge 
 
 
	I do not know what you mean by "referee asks for the ball." If no one has the ball after a made basket anyone can call a timeout.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by hooper 2.  After a made basket when referee asks for ball.  Ball is in possession of ref, can defense call time-out? (I know the ref does not need to touch the ball after a made basket, but this one happens a lot.)
 |  | 
	
 hooper --  The way you word this sitch is confusing, since normally the ref doesn't need to handle the ball after a made basket.  The shooting team can have their request for a time out granted up until the ball is "at the disposal" of the now in-bounding team.  At the disposal means that they could physically get the ball and set up for the throw-in even if they aren't actually doing that.  Most refs will grant the time out before the ball is in the hands of the now-in-bounding team, unless it's clear that they are deliberately stalling.