The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 01:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Tonight, as I try to do every friday night I was looking over one specific thing. Tonight was intentional fouls. I understand completly what to give an intentional for, my question is however what does an intentional foul mean. For example a Tech is 2 shots and the ball. What about an intentional?
thanks again guys
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 01:14am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Two shots( or 3 if it's on a missed 3-pointer) with the lanes cleared by the fouled player. Shooting team then gets the ball for a throw-in at the closest spot to where the foul occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 01:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
So its just like a tec except the ball is placed in play at the spot of the foul?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 01:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by fonzzy07
So its just like a tec except the ball is placed in play at the spot of the foul?
Almost. There's one other major difference, the person fouled has to shoot the shots versus a T where anyone can shoot the shots.

Also on a player in the act of shooting behind the 3-point line it is THREE shots if the shot doesn't go in as JR mentioned above.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 03:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Also, an intentional foul is "just another foul" for the individual's foul count, but a T is somewhat more serious.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 05:42am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Just to clarify in case anyone reading wonders: if the foul ruled intentional is against a shooter and she STILL makes the bucket, she STILL gets 2 MORE shots for the intentional foul, with the appropriate throw-in.

This is one way for a 5-point play, to hit a 3-pointer while being intentionally fouled.

So, to summarize, an intentional foul:

  • is worth 2 shots (3 if on a missed 3-point attempt), with the lane cleared

  • remains at 2 shots if during a try and the try is successful

  • must be shot by the player who was fouled (if that player is injured, the regular substitution rules apply)

  • fouled team gets a throw-in nearest where the foul occured

  • it is a personal foul, rather than a technical, and counts as 1 personal foul against the 5 permitted


  • [Edited by JugglingReferee on Jan 21st, 2006 at 05:47 AM]
    __________________
    Pope Francis
    Reply With Quote
      #7 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 09:55am
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2004
    Posts: 1,673
    Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
    Quote:
    Originally posted by fonzzy07
    Tonight, as I try to do every friday night I was looking over one specific thing. Tonight was intentional fouls. I understand completly what to give an intentional for, my question is however what does an intentional foul mean. For example a Tech is 2 shots and the ball. What about an intentional?
    thanks again guys
    If you pick up a copy of the latest Referee Mag, it really explain what "intentional" means. Even if a play makes a play for the ball, the foul can still be deemed intentional. I had one last night in my 3-person game. Excessive contact to neutralize the opponent can be deemed intentional.
    __________________
    Score the Basket!!!!
    Reply With Quote
      #8 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 09:58am
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 1999
    Posts: 17,448
    Quote:
    Originally posted by fonzzy07
    So its just like a tec except the ball is placed in play at the spot of the foul?
    Unless, of course, it's an intentional technical foul.

    Reply With Quote
      #9 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 10:01am
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2004
    Posts: 1,673
    Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
    Quote:
    Originally posted by bob jenkins
    Quote:
    Originally posted by fonzzy07
    So its just like a tec except the ball is placed in play at the spot of the foul?
    Unless, of course, it's an intentional technical foul.

    Good point.
    __________________
    Score the Basket!!!!
    Reply With Quote
      #10 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 10:23am
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Posts: 270
    Quote:
    Originally posted by IREFU2
    Quote:
    Originally posted by bob jenkins
    Quote:
    Originally posted by fonzzy07
    So its just like a tec except the ball is placed in play at the spot of the foul?
    Unless, of course, it's an intentional technical foul.

    Good point.
    What is the proper sequence of officiating mechanics for an intentional technical foul when reporting at table side?

    Would an official use both #34 & #36 when reporting?

    Do remember, when administering an intentional or technical foul only requires the players to clear the lanes beyond the 3-point arc. The players do not have to stand behind the divisional line at mid-court.






    Reply With Quote
      #11 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 10:29am
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Aug 2001
    Location: Hell
    Posts: 20,213
    Quote:
    Originally posted by IREFU2
    Quote:
    Originally posted by fonzzy07
    Tonight, as I try to do every friday night I was looking over one specific thing. Tonight was intentional fouls. I understand completly what to give an intentional for, my question is however what does an intentional foul mean. For example a Tech is 2 shots and the ball. What about an intentional?
    thanks again guys
    If you pick up a copy of the latest Referee Mag, it really explain what "intentional" means. Even if a play makes a play for the ball, the foul can still be deemed intentional. I had one last night in my 3-person game. Excessive contact to neutralize the opponent can be deemed intentional.
    Just a note of caution.....

    I don't have a clue what interpretation Referee Magaize used in that particular article but it is not an official interpretation. Referee Magazine is noted for printing completely wrong rules answers and interpretations, and then having to retract them in later issues.

    Iow, never take anything printed on the rules in Referee mag as gospel. The only official rules interpretations are those issued by the NFHS or a governing state body.
    Reply With Quote
      #12 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 01:12pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2003
    Posts: 2,557
    To be honest I don't even read the rule questions for the most part from Referee Magazine.
    Reply With Quote
      #13 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 01:24pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 1999
    Location: In the offseason.
    Posts: 12,080
    Quote:
    Originally posted by johnny1784
    Quote:
    Originally posted by IREFU2
    Quote:
    Originally posted by bob jenkins
    Quote:
    Originally posted by fonzzy07
    So its just like a tec except the ball is placed in play at the spot of the foul?
    Unless, of course, it's an intentional technical foul.

    Good point.
    What is the proper sequence of officiating mechanics for an intentional technical foul when reporting at table side?

    Would an official use both #34 & #36 when reporting?

    Do remember, when administering an intentional or technical foul only requires the players to clear the lanes beyond the 3-point arc. The players do not have to stand behind the divisional line at mid-court.
    Just a T. There is NO tangible difference between a generic T and an intentional T. The penalty is exactly the same. I've never called/signaled an intentional T and never will. It's either a T or a flagrant T.
    __________________
    Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
    Reply With Quote
      #14 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 03:38pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2004
    Posts: 1,673
    Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
    Quote:
    Originally posted by IREFU2
    Quote:
    Originally posted by fonzzy07
    Tonight, as I try to do every friday night I was looking over one specific thing. Tonight was intentional fouls. I understand completly what to give an intentional for, my question is however what does an intentional foul mean. For example a Tech is 2 shots and the ball. What about an intentional?
    thanks again guys
    If you pick up a copy of the latest Referee Mag, it really explain what "intentional" means. Even if a play makes a play for the ball, the foul can still be deemed intentional. I had one last night in my 3-person game. Excessive contact to neutralize the opponent can be deemed intentional.
    Just a note of caution.....

    I don't have a clue what interpretation Referee Magaize used in that particular article but it is not an official interpretation. Referee Magazine is noted for printing completely wrong rules answers and interpretations, and then having to retract them in later issues.

    Iow, never take anything printed on the rules in Referee mag as gospel. The only official rules interpretations are those issued by the NFHS or a governing state body.
    Point taken, I make sure the interpretation is that which is in the case book as well.
    __________________
    Score the Basket!!!!
    Reply With Quote
      #15 (permalink)  
    Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 06:59pm
    fan fan is offline
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Posts: 51
    Can anyone give me a rules reference for where players must stand when the foul shots are being taken for an intentional or technical foul (nfhs)?

    Thanks
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes Rate This Thread
    Rate This Thread:

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is On
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33pm.



    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1