The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
A5 is standing in frontcourt (both feet on frontcourt) as he receives live ball. After one dribbel on the frontcourt he takes two dribbles on the backcourt, without moving his feet to backcourt!

are we calling a violation right here??

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Scoobydoo1995
A5 is standing in frontcourt (both feet on frontcourt) as he receives live ball. After one dribbel on the frontcourt he takes two dribbles on the backcourt, without moving his feet to backcourt!

are we calling a violation right here??

Yes.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 06:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Can you pleaz give me your argumentation??For I strongly feel that under Fiba rules, it's NOT a violation..



btw: zebraman, are you from Holland?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Scoobydoo1995
Can you pleaz give me your argumentation??For I strongly feel that under Fiba rules, it's NOT a violation..



btw: zebraman, are you from Holland?
I don't know FIBA (feeble) rules. We usually assume NFHS rules on this board unless otherwise stated. You'll have to consult your feeble rule book.

I'm not from Holland. But I did stay at a Holiday Express last night and I do think that wooden shoes and tulips are kinda cool.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,047
Backcourt violation in FIBA too.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Its whats called the 3 point system, if anypart of the 3 point system( both feet, and the ball) is back court it is a back court violation. just like to gain front court status you must have all 3 in the front court.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by fonzzy07
Its whats called the 3 point system, if anypart of the 3 point system( both feet, and the ball) is back court it is a back court violation. just like to gain front court status you must have all 3 in the front court.
A little learning is a dangerous thing, fonzzy. The rule is way, way, way more complicated than that, and your simplification only covers about half of the questions. Here are the simplifications that are a little more complete.

To have a bc violation, you must have:

1. Team control
2. Ball with frontcourt status
3. Team A player is last to touch before the ball gains bc status
4. Team A player is first to touch after the ball gains bc status.

The three point rule is that on a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball does not have frontcourt status until both feet of the dribbler and the ball have all touched in the fc in a row, without any touching in the bc.

Sounds byzantine? yea, but if you don't learn it correctly right from the beginning, and always remind yourself of all the details, it'll come back and bite you in the butt very soon.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 01:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 280
Fiba rules? most definitely back-court violation!!
__________________
Your reputation precedes you
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 01:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Since we are talking good ole' Feeble rules did anybody know that they are using one (yes just one) of the Fiba rules (being able to touch or rebound the ball after it has contacted the rim but is still in the imaginary cylinder) as an experimental rule in the NBA D-League? They are seriously thinking about using that in the NBA.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 04:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
I'll tell why I think it's not a violation:
In art 30.1.2 is stated that a player of the team in posession of the ball -that player standing on the backcourt- has got to touch the ball to make it an illegal return to backcourt. I think that's not happening in this case...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 08:47am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
If s/he touches the ball while its in the backcourt then the player is deemed to also be in the backcourt, regardless of where his/her feet are located.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 08:49am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally posted by Scoobydoo1995
I'll tell why I think it's not a violation:
In art 30.1.2 is stated that a player of the team in posession of the ball -that player standing on the backcourt- has got to touch the ball to make it an illegal return to backcourt. I think that's not happening in this case...
All three points were in the frontcourt. One point (the ball) returned to the backcourt thus causing a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
@Smoke eater, so where the ball is dribbled defines the location of the player?? That's a newsflash to me...

@tjones: This point system is kinda new to me. So If a player passes it's ball to the backcourt (standing in frontcourt) it's also a violation???
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 09:36am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally posted by Scoobydoo1995
@Smoke eater, so where the ball is dribbled defines the location of the player?? That's a newsflash to me...

@tjones: This point system is kinda new to me. So If a player passes it's ball to the backcourt (standing in frontcourt) it's also a violation???
Only when the player has completely gained FC status with both feet and the ball then returns the ball to the BC. If they are dribbling the ball they are in control of it, and it is in the BC. Rainmaker's description earlier describes the criteria very well.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by SmokeEater
If s/he touches the ball while its in the backcourt then the player is deemed to also be in the backcourt, regardless of where his/her feet are located.
This is simply not true. Re-think this one, smokeeater.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1