![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But as for your original question, look back at what Rainmaker wrote. Let's go through it. 1. Team control Team A clearly had team control, b/c A1 was holding a live ball inbounds. 2. Ball with frontcourt status Since the ball was held -- and not dribbled -- it had frontcourt status as soon as A1 held it with both his feet in the frontcourt. So we definitely have frontcourt status. (If A1 had been dribbling from backcourt to frontcourt, the situation would be different. The ball would actually have to touch in the frontcourt to have frontcourt status. But since A1 caught the ball and held it while in the frontcourt, the dribbling provisions do not apply.) 3. Team A player is last to touch before the ball gains bc status A1 was the last player to touch the ball before the ball touched in the backcourt. 4. Team A player is first to touch after the ball gains bc status. When A1 completed the dribble, he was also the first player to touch the ball after it had gained backcourt status. This is a violation. I hope that helps a little.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
| Bookmarks |
|
|