The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2005, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by tmp44


(2) Holding on Black 44, who then pushes White 22 to the floor. Calling official comes to the table: "Black 44 (signified by a double handed 4), hold. Double Bonus, two shots. Black 44, dead ball intentional foul, two shots."

What's your beef with this one? I agree that the double-handed reporting is not a proper mechanic (never in NFHS although I've heard that a couple college camps were advocating it), but this call might have been correct.

After the holding call on Black 44, we were in a dead ball situation. Black 44 then pushed White 22. Perhaps the official called an intentional technical foul? In that case, we would have done them in order which means that we'd shoot two for the double bonus followed by 2 for the technical foul. White would then get a throw-in at halfcourt opposite the table.

Z
I was wondering the same thing as you z...I don't see a problem with this call.

It might be interesting to hear where the officials took the ball OOB though...and if the officials cleared the lanes for the FTs.
I think the problem with this one is the dead ball foul should be a T.
I think you're wrong. It is a T, but it has to be an intentional technical foul by rule. It can't be an ordinary T by rule. If it's a dead-ball contact foul, it has to be called either an intentional T or a flagrant T.

Rule 4-19-5b&c.

Semantics. T vs Intentional T. Penalty is the same. 2 shots, division line throwin.
Nope, not semantics.

Rules.

I guess I should have been more specific...when the official went to the table, he signaled via mechanics an intentional foul, not a technical foul, i.e. he used the arms crossed mechanic. Procedurally after that, they did everything right: choice of shooter and ball out at division line opposite.
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1