The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 28, 2005, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Question

What do the women's rules say about the dreaded BLARGE? I was under the impression that it cannot happen in the women's game...and that the 2 signaling officials need to get together and decide on one or the other. I may very well be wrong since I do not do (or know) the women's rules, but I am discussing it with a fellow friend & official who works women's games. He believes it is a double foul with AP...and I keep telling him he better look it up!
__________________
"Be 100% correct in your primary area!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 28, 2005, 05:12pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,942
Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
What do the women's rules say about the dreaded BLARGE?
The rule is the exact same as Men's basketball. This is not a rules difference between the two sides.


Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
I was under the impression that it cannot happen in the women's game...and that the 2 signaling officials need to get together and decide on one or the other. I may very well be wrong since I do not do (or know) the women's rules, but I am discussing it with a fellow friend & official who works women's games. He believes it is a double foul with AP...and I keep telling him he better look it up!
Unless you can show me something specific, there is no rules difference. Remember for the most part the rules between Men's and Women's basketball are all the same except for some well known differences. This is not one of those differences.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 28, 2005, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
The Women have a directive to get together and share information to make one call or the other. We have a lot of officials in our group that also do Womens and they all want to use this directive during a high school game.
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 28, 2005, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 778
Yes, it's not a rule as much as a mechanic, per se.
__________________
Church Basketball "The brawl that begins with a prayer"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2005, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
I've seen some have to report both calls.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2005, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Question Where?

Quote:
Originally posted by ronny mulkey
The Women have a directive to get together and share information to make one call or the other. We have a lot of officials in our group that also do Womens and they all want to use this directive during a high school game.
Mulk,

Where can I find this directive to support this argument? My friend is going to ask!

Thanks!
__________________
"Be 100% correct in your primary area!"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2005, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
What do the women's rules say about the dreaded BLARGE? I was under the impression that it cannot happen in the women's game...and that the 2 signaling officials need to get together and decide on one or the other. I may very well be wrong since I do not do (or know) the women's rules, but I am discussing it with a fellow friend & official who works women's games. He believes it is a double foul with AP...and I keep telling him he better look it up!
6-3.1 AR 4 specifically applies to NCAAM. One might argue that this implies that NCAAW wouldn't have this sort of double foul -- so they must choose one or the other.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2005, 11:10am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Re: Where?

Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ronny mulkey
The Women have a directive to get together and share information to make one call or the other. We have a lot of officials in our group that also do Womens and they all want to use this directive during a high school game.
Mulk,

Where can I find this directive to support this argument? My friend is going to ask!

Thanks!
Tell him to go to the NCAA Bulletin website and look thru the archived bulletins...I believe it was two seasons ago, and (as already posted earlier) we were told NOT to have a blarge - get together and the official whose primary it is makes the call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1