The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by djskinn
If A1 is driving to the basket, can B1 set-up directly underneath the basket and take a charge?
High School rules (and philosophy) are designed to keep play from getting too rough. An official who won't make this player-control call (college philosophy) is just asking for more out-of-control drives later in the game. Make a good charge call (even if the defender is standing under the basket) and players driving to the hoop will learn to stop and pass when they see a defender in their path.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:
Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
Good points guys, but I am still wonder how to call it? Is there a rule stating that a position under the basket isn't a legal guarding posion. How should we call it??
If you are doing a HS game, it's a PC foul (assuming the defnder had LGP and all that)...if doing an NCAA Women's game, it is either a no-call or a block based on their rule-set...if doing a NCAA Men's game, it's eiter a no-call or a PC foul based on their rules-set...if doing an NBA game, it's a block since they have the restraining circle...

Dang it - Munchkin #1 beat me to it!
It is not always a block in the NBA if they are in the restraining circle. It depends on if the player was the primary defender or not or if the offensive player started in the lower defensive zone.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 03:57pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
...and players driving to the hoop will learn to stop and pass when they see a defender in their path.
Shoot, Z! Shoot, Z!
I wasn't a scorer, but even I would stop and pop.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,011
Quote:
Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
Good points guys, but I am still wonder how to call it? Is there a rule stating that a position under the basket isn't a legal guarding posion. How should we call it??
There's a specific FED case on this somewhere in 10.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
Good points guys, but I am still wonder how to call it? Is there a rule stating that a position under the basket isn't a legal guarding posion. How should we call it??
There's a specific FED case on this somewhere in 10.
10.6.1 SITUATION C: B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor....if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 04:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
Good points guys, but I am still wonder how to call it? Is there a rule stating that a position under the basket isn't a legal guarding posion. How should we call it??
There's a specific FED case on this somewhere in 10.
Case book play 10.6.1SitC:

B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1.
RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 04:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by djskinn
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Nate1224hoops
Good points guys, but I am still wonder how to call it? Is there a rule stating that a position under the basket isn't a legal guarding posion. How should we call it??
There's a specific FED case on this somewhere in 10.
10.6.1 SITUATION C: B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor....if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1.
You left out the most important part of the ruling. If the defender had a legal guarding position, it's a player-control foul. If the defender didn't have LGP, it's a block.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
...and players driving to the hoop will learn to stop and pass when they see a defender in their path.
Shoot, Z! Shoot, Z!
I wasn't a scorer, but even I would stop and pop.
mick
You are 100% right Mick. I don't know what I was thinking. When I played, I never met a shot I didn't like and I thought I was in range when I crossed halfcourt. I'm either getting old or I've seen too many "pure" point guards lately. Maybe both.

Z
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1