The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 06, 2005, 02:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by refTN
As an official, if a kid is falling before he gets hit but there is contact I will call a block or nothing at all.
Even if the kid falling down had legal guarding position?

Lah me.
Key word there Jurassic is HAD. Once he begins the "bailout," he no longer HAS legal guarding position, therefore, a block would be the correct call in this situation.

Say what?

Methinks you should maybe do a l'il reading of the ol' rule book. Being able to be moving and still maintain a legal guarding position is a basic concept of the LGP principle. You've got it completely wrong.

Try NFHS rule 4-23-3(b) first. That sez the guard is not required to continue facing the opponent". Then try rule 4-23-3(c). Note that it sez "the guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when the contact occurs". Then try rule 4-23-3(e) which sez "The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact".

There is never any prerequisite in the rules that sez you must be stationary and can't be moving to maintain a legal guarding position.

The basic concepts of LGP are the same under NCAA rules.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1