The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 26, 2005, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by CTom
High school Freshmen game situtation question. Coach A had previously received a direct techinical and has the "seat belt" rule in effect. Under ten seconds left in a close game and Coach A STANDS to call for a time out. Referee grants Time Out and slaps another Techical foul on the coach since he stood up to request the Time Out. Is this 2nd Techincal the proper call? Must the coach now leave the playing area?

Thanks for your replies.
I agree with Brian, welcome to the forum!

I think Brian is also right about the technical. It is within the rules to give it, I suppose, but really not very good game management. The only possibility that you haven't mentioned is that this particular coach was pushing the limits. It's possible that this coach was a real jerk in other ways, and standing up was the final straw. You don't mention, for instance whether he had stayed seated and quiet after the first technical. In general, though, I wouldn't give a T with 10 seconds remaining. Seems like there's got to be a better way to handle this.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1