![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Either team can call the timeout until the ball becomes live. When does it become live? When the throwin starts (at the disposoal). When does the 5 second count start? When the throwin starts. Do you start the count the moment the player picks up the ball? To illustrate that point... Consider a ball that, after it drops through the net, hits a player in the head and it rolls to the FT line (or even midcourt) where A3 picks it up. A3 walks directly but not quickly to the endline to perform the throwin. Are you suggesting it is too late for team B to have a timeout the moment A3 picks up the ball (20-30' from the endline)? If so, you have also decided the ball is live (that's the only way B can no longer call a timeout). Are you counting 5 seconds? If the ball is live for the throwin, you should be since the only way for the ball to become live is for the throwin to have begun. If you are counting, A3 will only have about 1-2 seconds left by the time he gets OOB. Do you really think that is what is intended or written? Common sense and the rules both suggest that your position can't be correct. The whole purpose behind the "at the disposal" is to prevent a team from [Edited by Camron Rust on Jun 5th, 2005 at 05:14 AM]
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
Bookmarks |
|
|