The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2005, 05:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
It is never a FOUL. In the NBA it constitutes a traveling VIOLATION. In NCAA and high school play, there is nothing wrong with doing this. It is legal.

The NBA and NCAA rules are available online, but the NFHS rules are not unless you are a member of the NFHS, and then you can view the casebook.

Here is the NCAA clip, which you can find at: http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...ball_rules.pdf

BR-89 RULE 4-63/DEFINITIONS
Section 66. Traveling
Art. 1. Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this Rule.
A.R. 35. A1 attempts a try at Team AÂ’s basket after having completed the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or the flange or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it strikes the playing court. Is this traveling? RULING: When A1 recovered his or her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There is no team control by either team when a try is in flight. However, when the shot clock expires and a try by A1 or a teammate has not struck the ring or the flange, it shall be a violation of the shot-clock rule.

For NFHS (high school) refer to 4.43 Situation B on page 32 of the casebook. It says almost exactly the same thing as the college rule, and it specifically states, "Is this traveling? RULING: No."
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1