View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2005, 12:15pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by darknails
Hi, I got into a arguement with someone about whether catching one's own airball is a foul. Can anyone give me an answer? And it'd be great if there is a written rule on line to prove it.. thanks!
Yes, under high school and college rules, you can shoot an airball and catch it.

NFHS 4.43 SITUATION B:
A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling?

RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try.