The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 1999, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Post

quote:
Originally posted by MalcolmTucker on 12-22-1999 03:30 AM
Gee you guys are tough. Must be US rules only. I would not make a call but have a whistle to stop play and prevent injury to player on floor. Then as team A had control they get the ball back. FIBA says falling to ground is not a travel unless something further occurs. This is a play you gotta see to be sure.


Yes, Brad and I were quoting the US highschool and college rules. That's what I tend to assume, unless specified otherwise in the question. Under these rules, anytime a player already holding the ball touches the floor with other than the feet or hands, it's a travel. OTOH, a player already on the floor can control the ball and a player dribbling the ball can touch the floor with other than the hands or feet without penalty.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1