The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/186-travel-not.html)

Dennis Nicely Tue Dec 21, 1999 07:30pm

Well, fellow refs, you do not know how much this board helps me in my officiating. I made a "no call" the other night I have been wondering about.

B1 shoots ball at his basket and misses. The inevitable jumble of bodies going for rebound. B2 comes down without ball and stumbles to floor, A1 comes down with the ball lands foot (or lower leg) on B2 causing A1 to lose balance and fall. I did not call a travel on A1 because his feet never landed on floor just on B2's leg or foot. What say you?

bob jenkins Tue Dec 21, 1999 11:51pm

I assume A touched the floor with other than his hand or foot while in control of the ball? That's a travel.

Bradley Batt Wed Dec 22, 1999 02:57am

Definitely a travel.

Even if the player had secured the rebound in the air and then came straight down on his back (or butt!) without his feet even touching the floor it is a travel.

MalcolmTucker Wed Dec 22, 1999 04:30am

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bradley Batt on 12-22-1999 01:57 AM
Definitely a travel.

Even if the player had secured the rebound in the air and then came straight down on his back (or butt!) without his feet even touching the floor it is a travel.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Gee you guys are tough. Must be US rules only. I would not make a call but have a whistle to stop play and prevent injury to player on floor. Then as team A had control they get the ball back. FIBA says falling to ground is not a travel unless something further occurs. This is a play you gotta see to be sure.



[This message has been edited by MalcolmTucker (edited December 22, 1999).]

bob jenkins Wed Dec 22, 1999 10:17am

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MalcolmTucker on 12-22-1999 03:30 AM
Gee you guys are tough. Must be US rules only. I would not make a call but have a whistle to stop play and prevent injury to player on floor. Then as team A had control they get the ball back. FIBA says falling to ground is not a travel unless something further occurs. This is a play you gotta see to be sure.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, Brad and I were quoting the US highschool and college rules. That's what I tend to assume, unless specified otherwise in the question. Under these rules, anytime a player already holding the ball touches the floor with other than the feet or hands, it's a travel. OTOH, a player already on the floor can control the ball and a player dribbling the ball can touch the floor with other than the hands or feet without penalty.


PublicBJ Wed Dec 22, 1999 05:34pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bradley Batt on 12-22-1999 01:57 AM
Definitely a travel.

Even if the player had secured the rebound in the air and then came straight down on his back (or butt!) without his feet even touching the floor it is a travel.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm sorry, do you have a reference for this? Using this line of thinking, if a player dives for the ball, gets a hold of it before he lands, it's travelling?



------------------
Brian Johnson

Richard Kreimer Thu Dec 23, 1999 12:04am

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PublicBJ on 12-22-1999 04:34 PM
I'm sorry, do you have a reference for this? Using this line of thinking, if a player dives for the ball, gets a hold of it before he lands, it's travelling?

Is he in the air when he gains control?

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


bob jenkins Thu Dec 23, 1999 02:19pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PublicBJ on 12-22-1999 04:34 PM
I'm sorry, do you have a reference for this? Using this line of thinking, if a player dives for the ball, gets a hold of it before he lands, it's travelling?

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Cases 4.42.5A and 4.42.5B seem to cover this.


Richard Kreimer Thu Dec 23, 1999 06:33pm

Thanks Bob, I had the same cases and was about to post today!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1