Thread: Travel or not?
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 1999, 10:17am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Post

quote:
Originally posted by MalcolmTucker on 12-22-1999 03:30 AM
Gee you guys are tough. Must be US rules only. I would not make a call but have a whistle to stop play and prevent injury to player on floor. Then as team A had control they get the ball back. FIBA says falling to ground is not a travel unless something further occurs. This is a play you gotta see to be sure.


Yes, Brad and I were quoting the US highschool and college rules. That's what I tend to assume, unless specified otherwise in the question. Under these rules, anytime a player already holding the ball touches the floor with other than the feet or hands, it's a travel. OTOH, a player already on the floor can control the ball and a player dribbling the ball can touch the floor with other than the hands or feet without penalty.

Reply With Quote