![]() |
|
|||
I guess it is possible to start dribbling in the backcourt then hop all the way to the baseline and back to the backcourt (still hopping) within 10 seconds. But then you still have to make back into the front court before that same 10 second count ends. Heaven help you if someone starts guarding you anywhere in the scenario. I don't see much of a risk in that happening within a 10 second count. I'll try it next time I have the opportunity and report back.
By the way I tried repeating the steps in the orginal sitch. It isn't easy to step forward with your back foot while reversing a dribble.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
Quote:
Second, when he's hopping and dribbling in the FC, he's in the FC. Thrid, if he hops back into the BC, you have a BC violation, not a 10 second violation. [Edited by BktBallRef on Jan 31st, 2005 at 06:51 PM] |
|
|||
Re: Tony what are you thinking?
Quote:
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford |
|
|||
I agree an assinine play, but I can back up a 10 second count violation by rule.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
Quote:
So, you're telling me that if a player hops on one foot, while dribbling the basketball, crosses the division line, hops to the endline, you can call a 10 second violation if he doesn't put his other foot on the floor in the FC? You're nuts. |
|
|||
Quote:
The finite words in the rules don't specifically cover the infinite possibilities -- some common sense is needed. Unfortunately, common sense ain't so common. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the original FARFETCHED-ASSININE play where I described the dribbler hopping around, I posted I would blow my whistle once the dribbler returned to the backcourt. Either way that is a violation, be it BC or 10-Second. Man I wish I knew who originally post that scenario on this forum! I did not post nor would I actually call a violation for your post So, you're telling me that if a player hops on one foot, while dribbling the basketball, crosses the division line, hops to the endline, you can call a 10 second violation if he doesn't put his other foot on the floor in the FC?, in fact that sounds like a bit of mis-information that should not be posted on this board. ![]()
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]Legal, as long as he can rub his stomach counter-clockwise at the same time. Rule 11-1-3. |
|
|||
Quote:
"If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal." However, the backcourt status while hopping is, while it will never occur, correct. The 3-pionts rule is pretty specific that the dribbling player is in the backcourt until both feet (and the ball) touch in the frontcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|