The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally posted by OverAndBack
I worked five games today, so my brain was a little frazzled by the end, so bear with me. In the last game, A1 threw a pass toward the sideline and while it was heading out of bounds, A's coach calls time out. I said you can't have time out, the ball's not in your team's possession while it's in the air. But once it went out, it was B's ball and now you can have time out.

Did I get that right? I thought a loose ball wasn't in anyone's possession, or is it still in possession of the last team to possess it?
You are correct. To answer your question:

A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates, and during an interrupted dribble. Team control ends when the ball is in flight on a try for goal, an opponent secures control or the ball becomes dead. Did the coach want the time out when it went out of bounds?

A player is in control of the ball when they are holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Grant the TO in this situation.
__________________
"Don't measure yourself by what you have accomplished, but by what you should have accomplished with your ability."
- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1