The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 08:28pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,782
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks

NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks

NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.
Mark, he's knows that. He said that the official handled it correctly. He asked for the Fed ruling.

ref18, under NF, you would simply shoot the 1&1 with no one along the lane and then give them the ball at the division line.

This isn't a correctable error issue. The FTs would just simply be shot in the wrong order. There's a case play but I'm not looking it up 'cause I know I'm right.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

I know the answer for the NCAA rules, I'm looking for a fed interpretation.
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
In NCAA it's POI for a T, so you'd shoot the T first and then the 1 and 1 with the spaces occupied.

In NF you shoot in the order that they occur, so 1 and 1 with an empty lane, then other end for the T.

If you screw up the order and shoot the T first, you should still shoot the 1 and 1 with an empty lane and then award the ball to the team that shot the T.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
do you have a rule or case reference for that??
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 08:44pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,782
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks

NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.
Mark, he's knows that. He said that the official handled it correctly. He asked for the Fed ruling.

ref18, under NF, you would simply shoot the 1&1 with no one along the lane and then give them the ball at the division line.

This isn't a correctable error issue. The FTs would just simply be shot in the wrong order. There's a case play but I'm not looking it up 'cause I know I'm right.

I am sorry, I misread the original post. And you are correct on how to handle it under NFHS Rules.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
do you have a rule or case reference for that??
8.7.B
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks

NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.
Mark, he's knows that. He said that the official handled it correctly. He asked for the Fed ruling.

ref18, under NF, you would simply shoot the 1&1 with no one along the lane and then give them the ball at the division line.

This isn't a correctable error issue. The FTs would just simply be shot in the wrong order. There's a case play but I'm not looking it up 'cause I know I'm right.

I am sorry, I misread the original post. And you are correct on how to handle it under NFHS Rules.

MTD, Sr.
You're forgiven. Just don't do it again!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 23, 2005, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
When you have bonus/shooting foul FT's and technical foul FT's all at the same time, just make sure that all appropriate FT's are taken and that the right team gets the ball at the end - the order doesn't really matter.

Biggest problem I ever had in a basketball game came from trying to correct a situation where we shot the T's and then the 2FT's for the shooting foul. Had to give out a few more T's in the process of cleaning it up. :-/
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1