The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Error in foul administration (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17842-error-foul-administration.html)

ref18 Sat Jan 22, 2005 07:37pm

I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Jan 22, 2005 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks


NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.

MTD, Sr.

BktBallRef Sat Jan 22, 2005 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks


NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.

Mark, he's knows that. He said that the official handled it correctly. He asked for the Fed ruling.

ref18, under NF, you would simply shoot the 1&1 with no one along the lane and then give them the ball at the division line.

This isn't a correctable error issue. The FTs would just simply be shot in the wrong order. There's a case play but I'm not looking it up 'cause I know I'm right. :)

ref18 Sat Jan 22, 2005 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.


I know the answer for the NCAA rules, I'm looking for a fed interpretation.

blindzebra Sat Jan 22, 2005 08:40pm

In NCAA it's POI for a T, so you'd shoot the T first and then the 1 and 1 with the spaces occupied.

In NF you shoot in the order that they occur, so 1 and 1 with an empty lane, then other end for the T.

If you screw up the order and shoot the T first, you should still shoot the 1 and 1 with an empty lane and then award the ball to the team that shot the T.

ref18 Sat Jan 22, 2005 08:44pm

do you have a rule or case reference for that??

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Jan 22, 2005 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks


NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.

Mark, he's knows that. He said that the official handled it correctly. He asked for the Fed ruling.

ref18, under NF, you would simply shoot the 1&1 with no one along the lane and then give them the ball at the division line.

This isn't a correctable error issue. The FTs would just simply be shot in the wrong order. There's a case play but I'm not looking it up 'cause I know I'm right. :)


I am sorry, I misread the original post. And you are correct on how to handle it under NFHS Rules.

MTD, Sr.

blindzebra Sat Jan 22, 2005 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
do you have a rule or case reference for that??
8.7.B

BktBallRef Sat Jan 22, 2005 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks


NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.

Mark, he's knows that. He said that the official handled it correctly. He asked for the Fed ruling.

ref18, under NF, you would simply shoot the 1&1 with no one along the lane and then give them the ball at the division line.

This isn't a correctable error issue. The FTs would just simply be shot in the wrong order. There's a case play but I'm not looking it up 'cause I know I'm right. :)


I am sorry, I misread the original post. And you are correct on how to handle it under NFHS Rules.

MTD, Sr.

You're forgiven. Just don't do it again! :D

Mark Dexter Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:46pm

When you have bonus/shooting foul FT's and technical foul FT's all at the same time, just make sure that all appropriate FT's are taken and that the right team gets the ball at the end - the order doesn't really matter.

Biggest problem I ever had in a basketball game came from trying to correct a situation where we shot the T's and then the 2FT's for the shooting foul. Had to give out a few more T's in the process of cleaning it up. :-/


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1