View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 22, 2005, 08:28pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,047
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
I went to watch the college all star game today, and we sat with a referee who brought up this situation. I'm looking for an answer in Fed rules because he did it by the book for an NCAA game.

He calls a foul, it was the 7th team foul and therefore the fouled player was supposed to shoot the bonus. After the foul, the offending player earned an unsporting T. In the aftermath of the T, the official forgot to administer the 1 and 1. After the shots for the T. He administers the 1 and 1 with the lanes occupied and play resuming from the bonus shots. Now the coach is saying he should get the ball because of the T.

I agree with the coach and think that even though there was an error in the order of administration, you can still give possesion of the ball from the T.

Now any rules references would be great. Thanks

NCAA Men's/Women's Rules: The technical foul free throws are shot at the point of interuption.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote