The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 09, 2005, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member

Lightbulb

I reffed a game with a senior official not too long ago who really didn't impress me with his attitude...

Although I do understand I'm am only 16 and have been officiating for only 3 yrs now, he insisted on taking over the game, calling everything in my coverage area, sometimes totally ignoring the NFHS mechanics and making us both look unprofessional and well....dumb. He even made a comment to both coach explaining that I was a rookie and to take it "easy" on me. Now i know that i don't have very much experience, but I did pass the exam with a very good mark and I know I can definitley hold my own on the court. I also am more than willing to learn and be given pointers by my partner, in fact it is much appreciated. But how do I handle situations like this, do I approach my partner? Do I mention something or let it go?

Thank you
Old Sun Jan 09, 2005, 02:17pm
certified Hot Mom tester

Lightbulb

Let it go. Welcome to real life. If you think this is the first time you will be treated this way in not just officiating but in lots of situations until you are older, you have a few more thinks coming.

I'm not saying it's fair - just realistic. Learn from it and promise yourself that when you get older you will not simulate this behavior.
Old Sun Jan 09, 2005, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member

I'd say something along the lines of, "I know I'm young and have things to learn and get better at, but if you really want to help me get better, allow me to call my primary and please don't belittle me to the coaches."

If that does not work, make a few calls right in front of him and tell the coaches to take it easy on him because he's getting old and can't see like he used to.
Old Sun Jan 09, 2005, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member

krystal,