The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2005, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,184
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Okay.
What about this sequence?

1. A1. Jumps and shoots.
2. A1 shoves B1 as he lands on him. Intentional foul.
3. Ball goes in the hoop.

I know we have two free throws for B1, with the ball OOB at the spot. However. Does the shot count?
If it's not a PC foul (that is, it's an intentional or flagrant personal foul or a technical foul, rather than a common foul), then the basket counts.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee

In NFHS, penalize the fouls/violations in the order in which they occur. There is only one situation where a basket would count on a PC foul, which I hope was proven by case play 4.19.6.
Sorry, but NO WAY! In fact, the very case play that you cite, 4.19.6 Situation C, continues on to state, "A defensive-goaltending or basket-interference violation committed prior to a player-control foul does not contradict the general statement that when a player-control foul occurs that player cannot score. In the case of a defensive violation, it is the violation which results in awarding the score."

Can we stop this silliness now?
Since you also posted this EXACT SAME QUESTION back on Nov. 27, 2004 citing the SAME case play and were told that the points are AWARDED way back then by Tony.
http://www.officialforum.com/thread/16648

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jan 5th, 2005 at 07:03 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 12:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Okay.
What about this sequence?

1. A1. Jumps and shoots.
2. A1 shoves B1 as he lands on him. Intentional foul.
3. Ball goes in the hoop.

I know we have two free throws for B1, with the ball OOB at the spot. However. Does the shot count?
If it's not a PC foul (that is, it's an intentional or flagrant personal foul or a technical foul, rather than a common foul), then the basket counts.
This is strange, but TRUE.
As Bob says it is because this foul is not a COMMON foul and the definition of a player-control foul in 4-19-6 says, "a player-control foul is a common foul..."

Also there is Case Book play 4.19.6 situation D:
"Is it possible for airborne shooter A1 to commit a foul which would not be player control? RULING: Yes. The airborne shooter could be charged with an intentional or flagrant personal foul or with a technical foul."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1