Thread: Basket good...?
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 12:29am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Okay.
What about this sequence?

1. A1. Jumps and shoots.
2. A1 shoves B1 as he lands on him. Intentional foul.
3. Ball goes in the hoop.

I know we have two free throws for B1, with the ball OOB at the spot. However. Does the shot count?
If it's not a PC foul (that is, it's an intentional or flagrant personal foul or a technical foul, rather than a common foul), then the basket counts.
This is strange, but TRUE.
As Bob says it is because this foul is not a COMMON foul and the definition of a player-control foul in 4-19-6 says, "a player-control foul is a common foul..."

Also there is Case Book play 4.19.6 situation D:
"Is it possible for airborne shooter A1 to commit a foul which would not be player control? RULING: Yes. The airborne shooter could be charged with an intentional or flagrant personal foul or with a technical foul."
Reply With Quote