The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Dec 28, 2004, 11:25am
Official Forum Member

Question

18 scheduled games this season, and I have about 14 different partners to work with, all two person crews. I actually like it this year, because I'm new at this and figure to pick up a lot of good (and some bad) advice and observations.

Is working with a different partner every game pretty standard, or do most of you seek to work as teams? Around here it seems that most of the varsity level crews work together every game, but not so much any other level.

Hartsy
Old Tue Dec 28, 2004, 11:29am
Keeper of the HAMMER

Quote:
Originally posted by Hartsy
18 scheduled games this season, and I have about 14 different partners to work with, all two person crews. I actually like it this year, because I'm new at this and figure to pick up a lot of good (and some bad) advice and observations.

Is working with a different partner every game pretty standard, or do most of you seek to work as teams? Around here it seems that most of the varsity level crews work together every game, but not so much any other level.

Hartsy
That's pretty much how it is here, too. Varsity games are generally scheduled as crews, and the lower level stuff schedules individual officials.
Old Tue Dec 28, 2004, 11:41am
Official Forum Member

Around here you pretty much work with a different partner every game, even in varsity.
Old Tue Dec 28, 2004, 11:57am
Official Forum Member

Quote:

Hartsy
I think a lot depends on the way it's organized. Our association has around 325 members and a single elected commissioner that does all game assignments. We serve roughly of 200 schools, and last season I believe we provided officials for just under 7000 games (Juulie/Camron, please correct me here if I'm wrong).