The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2004, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
FIRST:
In this play, you will not take into consideration that A2 is airborne because he did not LAND with the ball in his posession. Therefore, the airborne status doesn't matter.
Rule 9-9-3 clearly addresses that the player secures control and lands on the floor (either frontcourt or backcourt or straddling) and that is legal.

SECOND:
That being said, now you have to determine the status of A2 since he possessed the ball and had control of it (different than if he had tapped it or deflected it on a throw-in). At the instant A2 catches the ball, Team A now has control and the throw-in is complete. He has frontcourt status because he is airborne from the frontcourt. He then passes the ball to A3 in the backcourt. Simply, the ball had frontcourt status, was passed to a team mate in the backcourt (first to touch it in the backcourt by same team that had control in the frontcourt). This is why it is a violattion. Obviously, if A2 had been airborne from the backcourt when he caught the ball, there would be no backcourt violation.

In short, Article 3 does not apply to this play.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1