The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is after a throw-in begins.

What's the correct answer?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 05:58pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Cool

Quote:
Originally posted by BushRef
Quote:
Originally posted by cyoreferee
Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is after a throw-in begins.

What's the correct answer?
Maybe.
Maybe???? What kind of an answer is that? Let's give the guy some real help. That's what we're here for.

The correct answer is "perhaps".
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 06:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 06:04pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
The correct answer is "false".

Which leads to the question "why?".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
The answer I get from most is false, but the question in how it is phrased makes no logical sense.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 08:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by cyoreferee
The answer I get from most is false, but the question in how it is phrased makes no logical sense.
The ball becomes live on a throw-in when it is at the disposal of the thrower.The question, though certainly not ideally phrased, is asking whether you should ignore physical contact between the time the ball first became dead and the time that it becomes live again. The correct answer is "false", and the rules reference is R4-19-1NOTE.

Btw, welcome to the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
I put false.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 09:08pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by cyoreferee
Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is after a throw-in begins.

What's the correct answer?
OK - here's a real answer. The statement is false because it has an incorrect component. For the statement to be true, it would have to read as follows:

"Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is intentional and/or flagrant."

The test part of the question is to find out if you know when you can call a contact foul during a dead ball - it really doesn't have anything to do with your understanding of throw-ins.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2004, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:
Originally posted by cyoreferee
Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is after a throw-in begins.

What's the correct answer?
OK - here's a real answer. The statement is false because it has an incorrect component. For the statement to be true, it would have to read as follows:

"Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is intentional and/or flagrant."

The test part of the question is to find out if you know when you can call a contact foul during a dead ball - it really doesn't have anything to do with your understanding of throw-ins.
Exactly why I put false.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
"Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is intentional and/or flagrant."
There's one situation I can think of where you can have a common personal foul during a dead ball. Airborne shooter A1, after the ball has passed through the basket, crashes into B1. This could be a block or charge even if not intentional and/or flagrant.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 08:28am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
"Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is intentional and/or flagrant."
There's one situation I can think of where you can have a common personal foul during a dead ball. Airborne shooter A1, after the ball has passed through the basket, crashes into B1. This could be a block or charge even if not intentional and/or flagrant.
Mark left a few words out. The entire cite for NFHS R4-19-1NOTE says- "Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is ruled intentional and/or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter".
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
The answer is false. 4-19-1 (Note)

ART. 1 . . . A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead.
NOTE: Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 08:58am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

I marked number 18 false, along with everyone else in both associations that I work in. Love it when there's an unanimous consensus!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 20, 2004, 01:39pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Mark left a few words out. The entire cite for NFHS R4-19-1NOTE says- "Contact after the ball is dead is ignored, unless it is ruled intentional and/or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter".
I was thinking of our local men's senior rec league. There are no airborne shooters there because no one can jump anymore.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1