The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2004, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216

So are you saying that that a request for TO can be granted up to the point where you start you count? After you start your count (I'm assuming) you have determined that the ball is "at their disposal".

Yes.

I usually find that individuals have one of two questions on this:

Q1) For how long can I grant the TO?
Q2) When is the ball at the disposal / do I start my count?

A1) Until you start your count
A2) AS soon as you would no longer grant a TO to A.

Yes, it's circular reasoning. But as long as an individual is only confused about one of those issues, it works. And, for some reasaon, people who are confused by Q1 aren't confused by Q2, and vice-versa.

Believe it or not--it makes perfect sense!!!

Actually, I would feel more comfortable if there was a more black/white way of deciding exactly when the ball is supposedly "at the disposal" of the inbounding team. I've read the previous posts--not sure I've heard a definitive answer.

The rules are pretty clear.

If the ball is in the vicinity of the throw in area, i.e. end line, when team B secures the ball, or if in the official's judgement COULD secure the ball, it is at their disposal, the ball is live, and the count starts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1