The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 16
I have a rules question that I need clarification on:

A1 has the ball for his second free throw attempt when B1, in a marked lane space, steps into the lane. The official inadvertantly sounds the whistle and stops play. Team B requests and is granted a timeout. Following the timeout, A1 misses the free throw. The official sounds the whistle and awards A1 a substitute free throw. Is the official correct?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Arctic Circle
Posts: 112
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnBark
was the whistle for the lane violation or the TO?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 09:32am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,654
Quote:
Originally posted by kslcol
I have a rules question that I need clarification on:

A1 has the ball for his second free throw attempt when B1, in a marked lane space, steps into the lane. The official inadvertantly sounds the whistle and stops play. Team B requests and is granted a timeout. Following the timeout, A1 misses the free throw. The official sounds the whistle and awards A1 a substitute free throw. Is the official correct?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Yes, the official is correct. The official's inadvertant whistle does not cancel B1's free throw violation and neither does Team B's request and subsequent granting of a timeout cancel the violation. When play is resumed the official and A1 has received the ball for his second free throw attempt, the official should give the delayed dead ball signal signifying that Team B has committed a free throw violation and that if A1's attempt is not successful the ball will become dead.

There is a Casebook Play that addresses this situation, whether it is in this year's Casebook I do not know. I have thumbed through it quickly and did not find it but somewhere in the past 34 years I have seen this ruling for the exact same play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 09:45am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
I think that maybe case book play 6.7.5Situation is the one that you were thinking of, Mark.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 09:56am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,654
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I think that maybe case book play 6.7.5Situation is the one that you were thinking of, Mark.

JR:

Thanks. I kept looking in free throws and violations, I forgot about live ball/dead ball. The best part is that Casebook Play is identical to our play here except there is not timeout request involved, but the result is the same.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1