The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inadvertant Whistle on Free throw (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16313-inadvertant-whistle-free-throw.html)

kslcol Sun Nov 07, 2004 09:04am

I have a rules question that I need clarification on:

A1 has the ball for his second free throw attempt when B1, in a marked lane space, steps into the lane. The official inadvertantly sounds the whistle and stops play. Team B requests and is granted a timeout. Following the timeout, A1 misses the free throw. The official sounds the whistle and awards A1 a substitute free throw. Is the official correct?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

JohnBark Sun Nov 07, 2004 09:30am

was the whistle for the lane violation or the TO?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Nov 07, 2004 09:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by kslcol
I have a rules question that I need clarification on:

A1 has the ball for his second free throw attempt when B1, in a marked lane space, steps into the lane. The official inadvertantly sounds the whistle and stops play. Team B requests and is granted a timeout. Following the timeout, A1 misses the free throw. The official sounds the whistle and awards A1 a substitute free throw. Is the official correct?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.


Yes, the official is correct. The official's inadvertant whistle does not cancel B1's free throw violation and neither does Team B's request and subsequent granting of a timeout cancel the violation. When play is resumed the official and A1 has received the ball for his second free throw attempt, the official should give the delayed dead ball signal signifying that Team B has committed a free throw violation and that if A1's attempt is not successful the ball will become dead.

There is a Casebook Play that addresses this situation, whether it is in this year's Casebook I do not know. I have thumbed through it quickly and did not find it but somewhere in the past 34 years I have seen this ruling for the exact same play.

MTD, Sr.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 07, 2004 09:45am

I think that maybe case book play 6.7.5Situation is the one that you were thinking of, Mark.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Nov 07, 2004 09:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I think that maybe case book play 6.7.5Situation is the one that you were thinking of, Mark.

JR:

Thanks. I kept looking in free throws and violations, I forgot about live ball/dead ball. The best part is that Casebook Play is identical to our play here except there is not timeout request involved, but the result is the same.

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1