The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
As Kelvin said, it is possible to have a basket followed by a 1-and-1 by another player on the same team. But not on this play.

Ball bounces off A1's head. B1 bumps A1 as the ball hits A1.

If the contact occurs before the ball goes in the basket, then the ball is dead and the basket does not count, as others have said.

If the contact occurs after the ball goes in the basket, then the ball is dead when it passes through the basket. Since the contact then occured during a dead ball, it should be ignored unless intentional or flagrant.

So on the original play, you'll have a foul or a basket, but not both.

[Edited by ChuckElias on Nov 5th, 2004 at 07:23 PM]
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1